You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What gets your goat?

in #funny5 years ago

I'm coming up empty on shiny new modern meanings for that phrase, but as someone who spends her life with goats, I have things to add to some of the comments!

I have had both sheep and goats, and the Bible thing about separating sheep from goats makes total sense. Goats are not "bad," but they have their own minds and will go their own way more often than not. Sheep will stay in a group and follow the shepherd, which makes it an apt analogy. However, I found sheep to be mind-numbingly boring, while goats are endlessly entertaining. Just saying.

I have never met a mean goat. They can be loud, but it's mostly because they are trying to get your attention. I think most of the bad press probably comes from people dealing with the males. They get really stinky and obnoxious during breeding season, so nobody wants to hang out with them. They get lonely and bored and act out because of it. Even stinky boys want to be loved!

If somebody got my goats, I would be very sad! Although I worry more about coyotes and cougars than people.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for the lesson in goatherding... :D

I found it very, very interesting. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you! I can talk about goats until everyone else has fallen asleep!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool. I've often thought it would be a good idea to have some goats for milk and meat, but have never taken the trouble!

Following you now... Hope to see you around. :D

Best milk in the world! You should try it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I have tried it, and I like it. ;)

"If somebody got my goats, I would be very sad!"

If somebody get your goats, don't be sad! Get angry! Get mad! Get royally pissed off and out for blood!

Oh yes! Definitely mad first, then sad. I have never lost a goat to a predator, but that doesn't stop me from waking in a cold sweat in the middle of the night every once in a while!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90