Halloween in the classroom (when the teacher is a total scaredy cat).

in #funny6 years ago

This week's @steemiteducation homework assignment is centered around Halloween. Although I want to support the project, I'm really not a huge Halloween guy.


There is a strong chance that this image is going to give me nightmares. Yeah he's cute... until he bites your face off!

First of all, I am the biggest scaredy cat in the history of time. I can't watch scary movies and I hate haunted houses.

When it comes to movies, I just get way too emotionally involved in them. Therefore, when something scary happens to the characters on the screen, and most people jump, I pee my pants ... because it feels like it is happening to me. (Did I mention I'm a complete loon?)

One time (when I was 36) I went to see the movie Beowulf in 3D. Fifteen minutes into the movie, I walked to the lobby and asked if I could have my money back. I told the pimply faced teenager it was because the 3D effects were making me nauseous. However, in reality, it was because I was scared out of my mind when some monster dogs jumped onto the screen.



When I saw The Ring in the theater, I had to look at the ground as that creepy girl climbed out of the television. I really wanted to cover my eyes... but I was in a crowded theater near the school at which I teach. I didn't want any of my students to see my true wimpiness. (I do tell them all about it all the time though). It's hilarious when I talk about. It would probably be slightly less funny if any of them had actually seen it. Who am I kidding? It would have been even funnier if they saw it. But even I have my limits.

And don't even get me started on the The Exorcist 3. There's this scene in a hospital where a figure covered in a sheet appears out of nowhere to cut off a person's... dang it! I got myself started. I'm not going to be able to sleep for a week. Luckily my mom gave me this handy dandy magical nightlight that is shaped like a lightsaber. She says if I'm nervous I can... oh no. I've said too much. Never mind.

I don't think I am even allowed in haunted houses anymore. When one of the characters jumps out at me, my natural reaction is to punch them... then run away screaming. I can neither confirm nor deny this actually taking place when I was 19. (But in 48 years the records will be unsealed and you can read all about it).



This is not me. Do you know how you can tell? There is not a wet spot on his shorts. He also hasn't hit anyone with that fist. Finally, he appears to be standing his ground.

So how in the heck could I possibly participate in this week's @steemiteducation assignment?

As is the case in most things in my life, the answer to these types of important questions can always be found by consulting the ultimate source:




Currently, I teach World History and Math to students with disabilities. I don't work a lot of Halloween themed activities into those classes. However, several years ago, I taught Reading. I was able to use some scary stories to catch the students' attention. I also used one poem...




This activity was quite simple and fun.

First, I introduced some of the vocabulary in the poem to the students.

Second, I had the students read the poem to themselves.

Then I asked them to jot down what they thought was happening in the poem. In addition, I had them draw a picture depicting the events taking place.

Next, I read the poem aloud to the class with as much feeling and infection as possible.

After I recited the poem, the class and I discussed it as they added to their descriptions and pictures. I was very careful not to slant the discussion too much with my knowledge and opinions. The students merely bounced ideas around and revised their notes and pictures accordingly.

Following the discussion, I showed this...




The kids were completely engrossed in this telling of The Raven. At several points during the video, students shouted out "Oh, that's what it meant" or "I knew it!". When one student said, "I feel bad for this guy." I knew they understood.

After the clip ended, I asked the students to partner up. I instructed them to compare each other's notes and drawings with what they had just seen. As I circulated throughout the room, I heard some great discussions. I also heard the kids having fun.

I ended the activity with a large group discussion summarizing what the students had discussed with their partners.

We then moved on to the ghost story portion of the lesson. I had each student tell the scariest tale they had ever heard.

No I didn't. If I had, the lesson would have concluded with me weeping and screaming as I ran out of the room. I like to save that move for second semester.

If you would like to share a Halloween classroom experience or teach someone how to do something related to Halloween (like make decorations or costumes) please check out the latest @steemiteducation post https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@steemiteducation/day-114-trick-or-treat-steemiteducation-halloween-homework.


Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sort:  

Very interesting, good post and I like, hopefully the next post better with a more perfect idea. follow me @pojan, Upvote and give a positive comment for me.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pojan/airport-and-important-thinks-about-the-airport-20171030t204222855z

hmmm
yes
@anis365

.................../////////////..............

lol how did this reply make it to the top?

What a brilliant post, it so much fun to read, it is definitely going to make a lot of people's day, while increasing the expectations set for Halloween. Have a fun and scary halloween...

My wife and I watch all the horror films in the cinema, the last 7 years. But she has a strange habit: she closes her eyes at the scariest moments, and then asks: what happened!?

I keep asking her why we go to the cinema, if she misses the most important moments, and she just laughs nervously... 7 years...

Thank you for your post, it was interesting to read!

I am a teacher in Indonesia and Most of my students are moslems. So, they are not interested in Halloween. Honestly, i wanna try to discuss and tell them, but they don't care about that....so

haha I agree with you, I too don't see the sense in paying money to have the wits scared out of yourself

However, I do enjoy seeing a scary movie with someone who's even more of a chicken than myself. It all of a sudden becomes really enjoyable. I'm sadistic like that :p

You should live stream yourself playing a scary game on d tube lol

Wait. Do they have a men urinating on themselves channel?

Question withdrawn. Of course they do.

I'm with you. I rarely watch scary movies.

From what I see, Halloween doesn't have to be scary. It can be about costumes: hooker, hooker nun, hooker spongebob, hooker married couple, and so on. It is a bit weird.

Of course, I hang around taverns more than I hang around schools...

Friend: What are you gonna be for halloween?
Me: Drunk!

Lol. Seems about right for a tavern.

I can't believe, given your disposition to horror films you actually saw The Ring at the movies. That was a terrifying film!!

A very cool poem to do with the students too!

A scary m ovie has to be really special for me to brave it. The Ring was all the rage at the time so I didn’t want to miss out. But that is my threshold. I cant handle anything scarier than that.

Fortunately there isn't much scarier!

Great work with the students! Congrats!
About scary movies, i love them, specially the old ones!
But cats? Wow!
I'm very scared of cats. They are unpredictable. This is crazy. We can never figure out what they're going to do.
Lol!
Thank you for sharing!
Followed and upvoted!
Hugs from Brazil!

Hii man !Halloween is the modern name of an ancient Celtic holiday "Samhain". People celebrate this day as a spiritual beginning of a new year. The various activities done in Halloween are mostly associated with the idea to obtain good fortune.
Ancient people believed that ghosts came back to earth on this day. It is said that on this day, the spirits of the dead come back to earth in search of living bodies to possess for the next year and try to return to the homes where they were living. So to appease these spirits, people offer them fruits and nuts. If the spirits are not pleased, it is feared that the spirits would kill the people or destroy their property. So dont fear . Thank u

Thanks for the lesson! Very cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16