So Um... Winter Weather?

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20180110-191046.jpg

It's been cold and wintery and then we've had a warm up and today it's been frickin' spring and now we have schools preemptively closing because of the weather tomorrow?

If we're really getting the weather they say we're getting, then I'm in for one hell of a nightmare tonight, because I'm arthritic and that drastic of a temperature change in that short a timespan feels like murder.

I might be breaking out the hot chocolate and peppermint schnapps tonight if this is the actual case. Warm the arthritic bones up.

And I'm sure someone wants to ask why there's three weather apps in my notification bar -- there are two apps that I love and one that I like pretty well. The two I love both have great features that the other doesn't have. They also don't usually give the same temperature and their current conditions don't match, often jumping the gun or lagging behind. The third doesn't have a lot of unique features, but I find it fills in the gaps decently well. And when all three apps agree on something, you know that's what's going on. Also, if the third app agrees with the current conditions of one of the other two, that's usually what's going on.

Why so much importance on weather? After living in El Paso, where the wind is insane, there are high bridges and mountains and no one knows how to fucking drive the moment a single raindrop falls from the sky, it's kinda important.

Also, it's really important to know driving conditions when your vehicle isn't in ideal condition and you're nursing tires and brakes that should be replaced (but you can't afford to). You need to know when it's not worth the risk of taking your vehicle out on the highway.

Sort:  

Same here! It got down to -20 less than a week ago, and it is 53 degrees right now!

All three of my weather apps currently agree that it's 53°F here as well, so it must be 53°F here!

If we're gonna get the winter weather, I'm looking forward to the winter weather. I'm just not looking forward to the massive overnight turnaround.

Arthritis does not like this kind of bullshit. It didn't like it when I was a young child, it didn't like it when I was a teenager, and it doesn't like it now that I'm twenty-eight.

But I do love winter weather despite the war it wages with the arthritis.

It was in the 50s here and schools were on a 2 hour delay. The drastic temperature change from below 20 to over 50 has caused thick fog at odd hours during the day. I think it'll be springlike here and then it's suppose to drop again. I think my migraines the past few days are tied to the weird weather. No sun then bright sun then no sun is giving me eye strain and headaches . Hope you're doing well kitty cat. Nice to see you around Steemit City. :)

My sinuses are fucked up from being sick, so I think that might actually be saving me from the migraines of the weather change. We didn't get -20s but we did get -9°F to -14°F for several days running. But you're at a higher elevation, meaning you likely got colder. I remember living in the mountains, even if it was El Paso.

The sun/no sun/sun again thing doesn't bother me too terribly much because I mostly stay indoors and avoid sunlight. Whenever possible (and thanks to Walmart, Hy-Vee, CVS, and it otherwise being winter and getting dark early, is actually pretty easy to do most of the time) I go out at night or around dusk to get things done if I have to leave the house.

I am a highly experienced cave dweller.

I'm sorry about your headaches.

I'm on the mend, but it's a journey of its own.

Much love! ♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62