THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN "DUAL-PURPOSE" & "MULTI-PURPOSE" - GETTING THE MOST FROM YOUR LIVESTOCK

in #funny6 years ago

This is where the tires of creativity and innovation hit the homesteading road!


Part of our goal with living a homesteading lifestyle is to get the biggest return on our investment with the least possible time, effort, and money invested. It's not that we are lazy, but rather than all our time and resources are limited, and the more that we are able to get out of what we've got, the better.

When we recently got our new Finn/Shetland sheep, were knew that they were "dual-purpose" since people use them both for meat and for their wool. However, we were not satisfied with only having "2" uses for our sheep. Soon, we were hard at work brainstorming.

WE NEED MORE USES!

First, we realized that had some new "lawn mowers" that would "work for grass." Whatever part of the property we allow them access to can now be groomed by these domesticated lawn maintenance professionals. What makes it even better is that they fertilize as they go!

An interesting part of being here in the worldwide community that steemit provides is that you literally have a "world" of advice and suggestions that you are exposed to. When we first got the sheep, one interesting suggestion for a use for them was milk. While cow's milk and goat's milk are pretty common around here, I had never really thought about milking sheep. We will have to look into this more.

A STROKE OF GENIUS!

One afternoon, after a very hard day of working around the homestead, I had a stroke of genius. Simply put, I was extremely tired and needed a nap. However, I had no pillow and lacked the effort to make it all the way to my bed. Then, I remembered my big, fluffy sheep!

Could this be the next purpose that I was looking for? If I could successfully use one of them as a pillow, then I would add another purpose to the list for our sheep. Carefully, I hopped in their pen. The excitement of the situation almost made it too hard for me to even try taking a nap, but exhaustion got the best of me, and I was successful!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pillow-purpose



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Cool sheep you have.
You are becoming one with the sheep.
True to the sheep.
Keep on steemit.

Treat the animals well and with respect, they allow us to live and prosper. Native Americans understood this.

Absolutely, I agree.

i also agree with you @robertchr

Most city folk count imaginary sheep in order to get to sleep.

They have no idea how much better it is just to pull up a nice fluffy sheep and fall asleep on a cloud of wool.

Lol, good point. Then you only need one!

pop your velcro pants on so they cant get away!!

Sheep's milks great cheese! BTW what kind of example are you setting for the little peppers, sleeping on the job? Next thing you know all the little peppers will be demanding equal time on the sheep pillow and then you'll just have to breed more! lol

proof-of-pillow-purpose is a major contribution to the farming community as a whole. You now rank up among the inventor of the threshing machine, the developers of irrigation, and the Dolly people. I'm sure the farming journals will be beating a path to @papa-pepper's door for interviews.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

Wow! Good post comrade!

Lol! Awesome funny and creative too. Definitely a fluffy pillow. Thanks for posting Sir, @papa-pepper

Steem on! 🐬🐬🐬
#Hugs-Challenge

I thought it would be a funny one that some people might enjoy. Thank you!

Beautiful pictures
God bless you dear friends

Does your homestead have municipal garbage collection or is that left for you to take care of?

I'm curious how you take care of that in your neck of the woods.

The garbage and recycling can be taken to a center in the tower a half hour away, which is added incentive not to waste a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90