@polebird: 😫 My Steemit Vlog fail! DIY computer upgrade 😫

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

You have probably heard of the phrase “pinterest fail.” A pinterest fail is when you find a blog or vlog with a DIY tutorial on how to do something AWESOME, and you attempt to replicate it – coming nowhere close to the original. Today’s dtube is just that – I tried to vlog a cool experience for you guys and show you the insides of an iMac – by filming a DIY upgrade of my iMac’s insides to a solid state drive. But, it didn’t go quite as planned. And obviously, I have no idea what I am talking about.



^click image above to watch in dtube

Hubby and I ordered all the tools we needed and then followed an online tutorial (haha from his memory). We probably should have followed along EXACTLY as they instructed with the video step by step - maybe we would avoid cracking my poor computer screen TWICE.

Screen Shot 2018-02-10 at 2.02.37 PM.png

Looking back, just a tip from a non-professional in case you are going to be trying this yourself…. making sure the sealant is properly cut/removed is essential. This is why the second crack (about 6 inches long) happened.

IMG_6106.PNG

Anyhow, hope you have a good laugh watching my failed DIY. It was quite sad and shocking when the screen cracked (especially the second time), but shit happens. But overall, my computer works a bit faster, and I guess it’s the insides that count. The appearance is just superficial. Oh yeah, it was even more failed than I thought because my external hard drive also got deleted accidentally. I’m not quite sure how that happened since this computer upgrade has nothing to do with an external hard drive. I’m happy to report it took 3 weeks, but everything was finally recovered - glad I didn't lose a ton of my photos.

And with that, I leave you with another funny pinterest fail to lighten your day!

hilarious-pinterest-fails-19.jpg

source

Have you guys DIYed something that went wrong? Thanks for watching friends!

DSC01503.jpg

Love,
Jess


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

My conclusion after watching the video is: You mistook the DIY (Do it yourself) from the online tutorial to be DIY (Destroy it Yourself). That innocent apple screen.
Gosh.😀😁😀😁👅
Shit happens.😁

HAHAHAH that cracked me up! good one my friend :D I know right?? sad casualty of DIY

i love the honesty of this post @polebird - its sort of a behind the scenes and shows the hiccups along the way. i love mistakes because thats how i learn! but also they can be frustrating in the moment ;p

as a natural creative person and designer/maker/tinkerer, i often find myself in DIY situations when the DIY-ing was way more expensive or complicated than having someone do it for me. but its a process of learning. nobody was a rocket scientist overnight! literally Elon Musk has blown up several entire rockets trying to get them to land, and just last week landed two giant booster rockets in unison to be relaunched some time in the future - and it was one of the most beautiful things ive ever seen.

thank you! Definitely learned for the next round... if there is one: P I love doing DIY projects as well, but I guess they have the possibility of going sideways. The upside ... failures and practice lead to progress, like the example you gave :)

You need to use a heat gun or hair dryer to heat up the adhesive this way you won't crack the screen. Solid State Drives (SSD) are drives that have no movable parts which is one of the reasons they are faster. They are similar to flash cards and usb drives but are 5 to 6 times faster and higher quality components. Lots of people will store the operating system on an SSD and use a regular HHD for mass file storage they are cheaper and you get more storage but they are slower

AHH thank you! very informative :) hehe I will keep in mind the tip regarding the hair dryer - that makes sense because I have used that trick on tags and stickers in the past, and thanks for the SSD drive explanation!

Hahaha ... Looks very funny my friend. May always be successful for you @polebird. :-)

thanks!! Wondering whether we should replace the screen now..... but it may not be successful :P at least it works lol

Cooki funny cup cakes looking with both eyes, how can eat it!

Wow Gr8 Creative. 0_0

thanks! lol

Good reminder from us :)maybe the best way to avoid that thing is to follow what is instructed

hahah yeah, we should have had the video playing on the side :P OOPS

Something tells me Apple likes their computers just the way they made them....props to you for telling them otherwise. Try a hair dryer next time to loosen the adhesive.

haha YEAH, figured that out while we were trying to loosen the adhesive. thanks for the tip :) I'm thinking of replacing the cracked screen..... but haha not sure if I will mess it up!

Omg my heart wouldn’t be able to handle that

hahaha I was pretty shocked at first and then with the SECOND cracking, but oh well, there are worse things I guess. I got more sad about the erased external harddrive... but IT's BACK! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79