New Feature - The WTF Moment of the Day #1 - Mitt Romney's Birthday Cake

in #funny5 years ago

I used to run Image of the Day and Video of the Day blogs. The IOTD blog I always talked with the owners of the photos, shared some bio info about them, and shared any links or news they wanted me to. The VOTD blog was more of just sharing videos from people who posted things on YouTube and other sites designed to share their content with as wide an audience as possible.

I know that type of content doesn't always go over so well here on the blockchain. I actually tried reviving the VOTD soon after I joined the platform. Of course with little to no one seeing my content it never took off.

After seeing a video a few minutes ago I decided I want to start a new feature here on my blog - The WTF Moment of the Day. Sometimes you just see something and have no reaction other than What The Fuck?!? Obviously this will be a lot of video sharing, but I am sure it will also include other things at some point. Even though I am calling it "of the Day", it might not be every day. There are times where I just won't see something worth sharing. Sometimes it will be something new, other times it might be something old that I came across.

Let me know what you think about this new featured in the comments section below.

Now for the very first WTF Moment of the Day

I am sure many have seen this already, but for those of you that have not - meet Mitt Romney. He is currently a Senator from the state of Utah. He was formerly the Governor of Massachusetts, and is a failed two-time candidate for U.S. President. For those that do not know much about him, he has always been considered a bit odd, and very robotic in many things he does.

Well today his staff surprised him in his office with a Twinkie cake for his birthday. As with any birthday cake it had lit candles on it. While you might be thinking that a Twinkie cake is the odd part about this all, you would be wrong. The WTF moment came when Romney began blowing out the candles on his Twinkies. Let's go to the video.

WTF?!? Who blows out candles like that?

Apparently Twitter pounced on him for this very weird way of blowing out his candles. In his defense he said he has been a little sick and didn't want to spread it around. That in itself could be applauded, that he was that thoughtful for the others, but he is still facing the Twinkies and is relatively close to them as he blows on them in his hand. If you ask me that kind of defeats the purpose.


Even Twinkie the Kid
was like WTF?!?

This method, regardless of his reason is just very strange. This is the type of thing I would expect to see Beldar from The Coneheads doing while consuming mass quantities, and drinking a 6-pack of beer in his unique way, or Dick Solomon doing on 3rd Rock from the Sun. Something that every Earthling SHOULD know how to do, and that only an alien could do so strangely.

For those of you too young to know who Beldar and The Coneheads are go to the Saturday Night Live site and watch this clip from 1977. It is seven minutes long and you will watch all the way until the end to see the mass quantities I referenced. Sorry, I couldn't find a link to embed here.


As for Mitt Romney, all I have to say to you is...

Sort:  

That was really a funny and unexpected response, specially from a senator ..😀 I would love to see more of the wtf moments.

Congratulations @randomwanderings! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59