8 iconic things for 80s fanssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago

Hey steemers,
as I am quite an 80s fan, I thought I'd share some iconic things from my favorite decade (in no particular order). By the way, I was born in 1990 and I think the 90s sucked :D

#1 The Delorean


Source

This marvellous car was produced only in between 1981 and 1982 in Northern Ireland. You may know it from the movie "Back to the future"

#2 Arcade


Source

Although the first arcade games came out in the late 70s, the 80s are known as the golden age of arcade games.

#3 The Rubik's Cube


Source

Everybody knows it, most of us hate it. Families have been destroyed by this little cube. Invented in 1974, the Rubik's Cube had its commercial success in the 1980s.

#4 E.T.


Source

E.T. the extraterrestrial - released 1982. One of the most iconic movies from the 80s and part of the most successful movies of all time. Steven Spielberg hit the taste of the audience by merging science fiction with fairy tale elements.

#5 The Walkman


Source

Another item originally from the 70s. However it was in the 80s when this technological innovation really took off. Many teenagers saw the walkman as a status symbol.

#6 80s Ski Suits


Source

Believe it or not, last year I went skiing with one of these. It was a leftover of my dad but unfortunately it was a little too short so we threw it away...

#7 Glamrock


Source

The music genre Glamrock is mostly associated with the 80s. Most of those bands emerged from the L.A. Sunset Strip. This picture shows Motley Crue. Other popular glam bands include Whitesnake, Ratt, Twisted Sister, Poison.... The list goes on and on. However the genre was more or less wiped out towards the 90s, when grunge became popular.

#8 Casio Watches


Source

Although this one is considered a retro watch, it has regained a lot of popularity during the recent years. I bought one 2 years ago and I must say, it is very reliable and I just love the 80s vibe ;)

Let me know your favorite decade and what you like about it =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74