SMS Language: Do You Mind?

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

mobile-phone-791644__340.jpg
source

Hello Steemians!

How are you? I hope your day is going as well as mine or even better?


Hlo Steemians!
HRU? I hope ur day z goin as well as min or
evn beta?

Do you hate it when people write you using SMS language?

In case you still do not understand what I mean by SMS language, then you should know that they are commonly used abbreviations and slang in phone text messaging.

Below is a picture that gives you some examples.

index.jpg
source

Now that you get SMS language is, I will carry on.

First, I will tell you why I am writing about this.

Imagine you are having a real-time conversation with someone; a colleague for instance, then you say something very funny which without doubt calls for laughter but it turns out that all you get from your colleague is a very disinterested "LOL".

"LOL" means "Laugh Out Loud" quite alright but damn, this is a face-to-face conversation not a virtual one, so who says "LOL" instead of actually laughing?

One who did not find the joke funny perhaps? I know but "LOL"? That is the height of the changes technology is bringing to our doorsteps, or at least the version of technology some common folk choose to embrace.

What happened to actually laughing or saying something else? Anything else? Who does that?

I will tell you who.

One who has become so used to texting abbreviated words that it has corrupted not just his written English but is also replacing his actions like in the instance above; saying "LOL" instead of laughing.

Would you get irritated at your colleague and put an end to that conversation, maybe get busy with something else? I know someone who would.

My friend, Justice. He gets really irritated when people text him using SMS language. You could tell him, "Hey man, It's not that serious" but I assure you the look you would be given would make you seal your mouth and turn on your heel in a different direction.

So while going through my phone some minutes ago, I came across a rhyme game I and Justice played sometime last year. The game was simple, we were each to put down lines that tell a story about the other using rhymes. It was my third turn and what came to mind was his distaste for SMS language and I penned the following down:

"I saw the other day you hissed
Some people sure got you pissed

I've got your back on this brother
Because we agree in that boarder

Why then do we need to tarry
About a dislike we could carry

Letting them know is our best bet
That meanings exist in each alphabet

And abbreviating words don't make them look cool
Rather it reminds me of the word 'fool'

I don't mean to call them foolish
They only need better polish

And i do not mean superficially
More like substantially

Well, that is all about that
Lest, I invite them to throw darts

In my defense, this is only just a game
So no one should call my name"

Okay, this is not a lecture in English language, so I will simply advise that we all make consistent effort when writing to spell out our words in full, as they ought to be spelt. Getting so used to writing with SMS language would corrupt your writings everywhere else, not just when texting on the phone.

Can you relate to this? LOL

I'm just joking with you, Steemians. If you're guilty, don't sweat it. You know I love you.



With love from stellar Stella
@stellarr

Sort:  

I guess we are all guilty to some extent. LOL😀

I guess so. Thank you

LOL! You nailed it dear!

LOL! Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70