Will my Great Grandchildren GO to the Moon?

in #future4 years ago

I know I’m old, but!

I was sitting in summer shorts with a grandchild aged 8 - I have a leg scar from a dog bite - He asked about it, I joked “It’s a war wound”

He said “Canon ball or Arrow”?

When any of my 4 great grandchildren call in, I look at them and think what will they see in their lifetime.?

If the speed of change since my birth in 1926, continues, then we are into fantasy land I think?

Imagine my great grandpa looking at me when I was 5 in 1931 and wondering what I would see?

He was born in 1841, would have no idea his great grandchild (me) would see comic book stories of rocket ships taking man to the moon - come true!

It did - Man On The Moon 2 Moon Rocket comic.jpg

In 1969 I watched spellbound, nerves on edge, the landing happening in real time, through another marvel - television.

I am fascinated with what the next 100 years will bring ? Indications are it will be unbelievable.

Consider the bewildering transformation going on now - a dramatic period of transition and evolution surely?

What you don't know about you don’t miss

As well as being a force for good, wider access to knowledge brings unrest to deprived parts of the world.

I can relate to this by comparison with life in the village where I grew up in the 1930s. We were content knowing little of what was happening beyond our village.

But I know now our living conditions would be thought hard - paraffin oil lighting, a trek to the bottom of garden for the hole in the ground toilet

My grandchildren have no idea of such conditions. I’ve only to say ‘In my Day’, and their eyes roll upwards in a ‘Here we go again’ expression.

The best and funniest example of ‘In my day’ hardship stories is a Monty Python sketch.

Monty python sketch

Share this

https://yourfuturebythefuturist.blogspot.com/
"As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases."

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Without a doubt

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Thank you magic8ball

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.54
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61