You've just successfully uploaded your mind. What are your plans for your future?

in #future7 years ago

You're living in a post-automation, post-scarcity world. Capitalism has ended. Goods and services are provided free of charge, produced, performed and managed by machines and AI. Atomic assembly is mainstream. Energy is clean and abundant. VR is indistinguishable form reality. Brain-computer interfaces are mainstream and everyone has them. People can control machines, access the Internet and VR just by thinking. Since the development of medical and life extension technology, nobody has died from natural causes and deaths from injury have significantly declined.

There are a few space habitats, some for research, some for leisure, some for production. Mars has a small research base on it and the asteroids are being mined. FTL space travel hasn't been discovered though, neither has intelligent alien life.

Artificial general intelligence (AGI) has been created. They're slightly more intelligent than technologically enhanced humans. Some AGIs have remained on Earth to help humanity but most have left Earth. Some have started constructing a Matrioshka brain around the sun and some have headed off to neighbouring star systems to do the same. The Matrioshka brain is planned to host a shared super intelligence that the AGIs can use simultaneously. When construction of Matrioshka brains around the other stars is complete, they will form a shared central intelligence network.


Source: “matrix” by new 1lluminati is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Experimental mind uploading technology has just been developed. You are the initial test subject. You've just uploaded your mind and the procedure was a complete success. You no longer have your biological body but you do have the pattern allowing you to create a clone. You are now hosted in a computing device with wireless communications.

What are your plans for your future?

Sort:  

Woah! Awesome imagineering here! My plans; after the first upload, I would be looking to upload myself into a starship. Even without FTL travel, that's sure to be a laugh.

Maybe I'll try some earth bound machinery as well; essentially, I want to experience life beyond a biological level. I think I'd hang around Jupiter for awhile, create various vessels to traverse the atmosphere. Plus several adjuncts of my mind placed into various observation probes.

Work on space bending tech, shoot small probes with parts of me towards systems with a good chance of life, use lasers to speed them up to 10-20% c, and see how it goes!

Shit man, thanks; I'm going to have a good old fantasise about this later; what would your plans be?

Cg

It's a very interesting question to see how we think we would act in that scenario as we would be be god-like entities. We would be able to explore our galaxy as well as an infinitude of virtual realities.

I'd spend most of my time in VR. There's so much more possibility because you're not confined by the physical laws of this reality. For me, physical reality would be the bottom layer of the infrastructure, basically where matter is turned into computational resources in order to run the higher layers of VR. I'd have systems set in place to alert me of any changes in my surroundings in the physical world in order to not get caught off guard.

I've always said that I'd want to build my own Matrioshka brain all for myself in order to massively increase my intelligence. I wouldn't just build a Matrioshka brain, I'd also build Shkadov thrusters as well so I could move my Matrioshka brain around. I'd send out probes across the galaxy to find other unoccupied stars and add their matter and energy to my own in order to grow and become even more intelligent. Others would be doing the same thing and some would be forming collective brains, so I'd create a network with them. Ultimately, I think a galactic network would emerge through cooperation.

Given current theories of how the universe will end, I'd set to work in creating a galactic scale Matrioshka brain and Shkadov thrusters in order to repeat the process all again but with galaxies this time instead of solar systems and continue up the chain of matter.

Here's a thought. If it's possible to somehow use dark matter as computational matter, a network of entities of such intelligence would surely know. We can't be that far off fro having a good understanding of it - a few centuries at most. Given that's it's unlikely that we're the most intelligent life form in the galaxy, if dark matter can be used as computational matter, it probably already has been. The dark matter we see around galaxies could be galactic Matrioshka brains.

Yes; I like that; I hadn't really thought of VRs, simply because I was thinking of all the things I'd do in, the real. Funnily enough, I started a sci-fi series on Steemit, called; Asimov's Ghost.

In that, we all live on the Q-block (quantum blockchain), and sure enough, most of us, decide to spend most of our time on it.

However, technology also enhances our physical experience, through our nanoswarm and empLinks, giving us thousands of extra senses, and experiences.

I think the biggest problem with a galactic size Matrioshka brain, is the amount of time taken to process between each node. I guess with some kind of quantum tunnelling, that problem might be circumvented. If not, then the speed of light, is glacially slow, over those kinds of distances.

Cg

With regards to such large scale structures and the immortal nature of synthetic entities, I don't think they'll see time the way we currently do.

I'll be certain to checkout your Asimov's Ghost series.

Understanding what is my meaning anymore and what is my purpose in living.

What is your meaning and purpose of living now?

Sorry, I can't go along with type of thinking any more.

The mind is not in the brain.
No computer on the earth, no computer in this universe, can store the information in the mind. The universe isn't big enough to do that.

It may be possible to create an electronic body to interface with the mind, but that would be defeating the purpose of having the experiential body.

There are 13 senses. VR is currently only working with a limited subset of 2 of those. You know how audiophiles can tell the difference between records and CDs? That is what I mean by subset. Also, the higher senses allow you to look outside the view you are holding, in other words, they would allow you to see the VR that was fooling your lower senses, and tell you that you were being fooled.

Computer AI will never become inventive. Inventions come from outside. The most inventive people have always talked about muses, being their inspiration. You can't put that into a computer.

And there are even more important aspects of being a human that can never be relegated to a computer.

So, although I used to like these kinds of mental gymnastics. I can't entertain them any more. They are fallacious on the surface of them.

The mind is not in the brain.
No computer on the earth, no computer in this universe, can store the information in the mind. The universe isn't big enough to do that.

Of course the mind isn't the brain. The mind is the patterns created by and stored in the brain in response to external stimuli. Just like data stored on a punch card isn't the punch card, it's the pattern of holes in the punch card.

If a brain (created through random mutations that stuck around because they were evolutionary beneficial) can host the mind, then a device based on the brain and created from focused intelligence can surely do so as well. There is nothing special about the brain. It's made out of the exact same matter as everything else.

There are 13 senses. VR is currently only working with a limited subset of 2 of those. You know how audiophiles can tell the difference between records and CDs? That is what I mean by subset. Also, the higher senses allow you to look outside the view you are holding, in other words, they would allow you to see the VR that was fooling your lower senses, and tell you that you were being fooled.

Neural interfaces that could read from and write to the brain could perfectly replicate any data received by the brain from the senses. That is why they'd be able to provide perfectly realistic and fully immersive VR. With such technology, I could drug you in your sleep, remove your brain, place it into a life support/neural interface tank, simulate your physical life and you'd never know any difference.

Computer AI will never become inventive. Inventions come from outside. The most inventive people have always talked about muses, being their inspiration. You can't put that into a computer.

It already has.

Sorry, to believe any of that, I would have to discard so many of my personal experiences.
If you ever journey down the road I have been on, you will come back and edit this post muttering something like, "I didn't know".

The mind is not in the brain.

And all your links about "inspiration" are not about inspiration at all.
They are about interpretive copying. And they are the same links I would use to provide evidence of my point.

Sorry, without us both sharing experiences, all I can do is point out there, and say, "there's more".

Found and followed thanks to @cryptogee's post about us. Happy to connect and looking forward to reading your next post :-)

Thanks, in my next post which will be later today, I've got a gift for the community so be sure to check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 69480.96
ETH 3692.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24