You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fears of Steem failure

in #future6 years ago

The first thing I thought when I heard about this place back in September of 2016 was this is revolutionary. I saw tremendous potential instantly. Then I joined in the fun and noticed many shared the same view. Some thought of it as a replacement for existing platforms like Facebook, but a few of us saw something much bigger.

These days it's hard to find the visionary types. Old, almost ancient ideas when it comes to internet technology are being recycled and reformatted to fit in with a model that I thought and still think should be shaking up the internet and making huge waves towards being disruptive. So many seem to think making this place similar to something in existence is the way to go. I feel that's wasteful and halts progress.

Then some are applauding the use of approaches already proven to be failures on other platforms (like buying views and followers) so I too become worried if this will all be a waste of time. To me though, solving the issues seems simple enough that I still hang on. Then I see others simply give up and I go back to thinking maybe they're on to something. Yet I see so many still being awesome, and when I look at them closely: they're smart, motivated, driven to succeed types... and some days that's all I see.

Sort:  

I think that the reliance on the ancient internet ideas is some kind of security blanket but could also help newbies with familiarity to get onboard. I would much rather see some innovation that approaches some of the real issues we face though.

Yet I see so many still being awesome, and when I look at them closely: they're smart, motivated, driven to succeed types... and some days that's all I see.

There only ever needs (and likely only will be) a small percentage of activated visionaries as they discover and create, the next ring will adopt and it will spiral outward. Find them, support them.

There's not many visionary types in the world to start with. The line between having world-changing potential as a non-conformist and a lifeless drone is easily crossed.

Steemit was built on the visionary types userbase. But for it to develop higher it needs other types of people that conforms to trends and what everyone else is doing.

It's a sad thing of course, not many people will think the way we think and that's just life. But god-forbid i dont do everything i can to share what i believe to people around me though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85