Anime review: "Future Diary" (BAD)

in #future6 years ago

Series in one sentence:
A whiny kid has a seriously bad case of Stockholm syndrome.

Series in more sentences:
A group of people, who usually write a journal of some kind in their spare time, are chosen by God to participate in a killing match. The last one standing will become God of the new world, after the current god and world die. All contestants get special hints on their cell phone based on the type of journal they used to write.
One of the contestants is an especially gifted fighter, which is a good thing for her love interest, who is undoubtedly the weakest player in the game.

unnamed.jpg

It's been forever since I watched this series, so I hope the things I'm going to mention will be correct, because I never want to watch this again.

I'm not sure where to start. I guess the plot is awesome and the execution was decent as well, but the first thing that bothered me was the main character, Yuki. He is an amazingly whiny little boy who is hard to like, let alone love, which is why the obsessive love from his stalker, Yuno, doesn't make any sense to me. Their backstory doesn't really explain why she likes him the way she does.

Anyway, this girl -with two too many ponytails- is actually rather awesome during battle. She's a skilled fighter who's only goal is to protect Yuki, which would've been an endearing trait if we were dealing with any other anime but Future Diary. At some point it reaches this uncomfortable chapter where Yuno does some very psychopathic things to her crush, which is why his eventual love and years of mourning over her struck me as odd. The girl is crazy and doesn't hide it, why does he love her?
Yuki spends a good time sitting paralyzed and tied up on a chair, as her prisoner, yet he still fights and sheds tears over her later on. It angers me, because the series wants this; it thinks it created a good love story, but it's just sick and nonsensical.

This is the main reason I despise this series. Do not dare to ask me to cheer for these two insanity cases, Future Diary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81