You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Materialism is Driving Tech Innovation

in #gallerani6 years ago

What you are saying is so true. I lived in a mansion once and was working myself to death to stay in it. One day I had the chance to work on a law case with the richest trial lawyer in the state of Texas. He was worth over $400 million dollars and lived in a $10 million dollar home. He worked over 70 hours a week, had no children and 3 divorces. He lived alone in that sprawling, 8 bedroom home. I asked him why he kept working an exauting schedule when he had already ammassed so much wealth. He said "you don't know?" "Don't know what," I replied. "There is never enough." A couple years later he died in a car wreck when he was speeding in the rain to make an appointment. That was when I snapped out of my trance. I made changes. I got out from under the huge house note. I downsized and started working fewer hours and spending more time with family and friends. Chasing material goods is a dead end. It just looks so bright and shiny from the outside that people imagine it will bring them happiness. It won't. Of course you need your basic needs met, but after that I say go for experiences.

Sort:  

Hi,
You are absolutely correct. Money cannot give all the happiness. Money is required but up to some extent. We should always have time for family. Family first remaining all later.

Totally!!! money is not a prerequisite to success.. It's acutally a byproduct of someone who is living a successful lifestyle - when success is defined more so as one's fulfilment rather than one's bank account!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86