Adapt or Fail

in #gallerani5 years ago

With all the news this week about what's been going on here with the Steem blockchain, I picked up some old notes I have about evolution and biology.

It's always interesting to re-read some stuff that you haven't looked at in a while, especially when it has high relevance to your current situation.

The news about Steemit, Inc. has me more worried than ever about the future of this blockchain. That's not to say that I'm going to pack up my bags and head elsewhere: I still hold high regards for the Steem blockchain and I am still excited about the potential future of this place.

The thing that worries me is Steemit, Inc.

A part of me wishes that they could pack their bags and disappear.

A part of me wishes that we could all forget about Steemit, Steemit.com, etc. and just refocus all individual and organizational efforts on the DApps of Steem.

It's clearer to me now than ever before that DApps are our only hope.

Communities such as Partiko and Steepshot and Actifit and Steem Monsters and Share2Steem and others are building the future of the Steem blockchain.

I fear that Steemit just gets in the way of these DApps.. They hog the spotlight, so to speak.

This is a decentralized blockchain. We are Steem. We have a say in the future of this blockchain.

Right now I feel that Steemit just has too much weight when it comes to the "brand" of the Steem blockchain... Unless you are a well-versed Steemian, you likely confuse the idea of Steem versus Steemit...

Most people in the real-world come across Steemit and think that Steemit is the Steem blockchain, but they don't see that Steemit is just 1 application on the Steem blockchain, not the whole thing.

Should we adapt to these new times and get rid of Steemit? My opinion is yes. What is yours?

Sort:  

Hello welcome! Wish you all the best. Upvoted your introduction post. Have a great journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79