How Much Cardio Should You Do?

in #gallerani6 years ago

I feel like this question of how much cardio you should do plagues the fitness industry. Some suggest several hours of working out and running and "working up a sweat" and others suggest just short interval bursts of cardio lasting only a few minutes.

In reality, everyone's body is different and will respond to different intensities, durations, and intervals of cardio.

To find out what works for you, I recommend going through a systematic, planned approach to a few different types of cardio.


The first approach that I think is a great place to start is a regular LISS (Low-Intensity, Steady State) cardio.

The gist of LISS is in the name - you get on a cardio machine or go outside or wherever you plan to do this cardio and you pick a low-intensity, steady pace of running, jogging, walking, biking, swimming, etc.

LISS is a great way to get started, especially for people who are out of shape but also for people who are already in pretty good shape.

LISS is a lot easier on the joints and it won't make you walk away feeling like you just ran a marathon at high intensity. It allows you to have more frequent sessions and still function in your daily routines - if your someone who's not used to working out at high intensities.

I personally use LISS on a regular basis - about 2-3 times per week as a sort of recovery training. I find it to be a great break from my intense weight training and conditioning activities and thus, it's a great way to allow my body some recovery while working through the lactic buildup. My typical session of LISS involves about 30-45 minutes at a 12 on the stairmaster.


After LISS I would try some HIIT cardio. HIIT is High Intensity Interval Training and is a fantastic way to get your heart rate super high and then have a short recovery period (usually less than 2 minute recovery between intervals of about 30s-2 minute bursts of training.

My typical HIIT session will be about 10-15 minutes in total and will consist of either stairmaster (at a high pace - 18 or so) or some type of conditioning (tire flips, for example).

I use HIIT regularly (about 2-3 times a week) as my main source of cardio training. On the days that I'm feeling really exhausted physically, I'll do LISS instead to allow my body some recovery.

HIIT can be extremely exhausting... In fact, it should be extremely exhausting. It should also be really short which is the main thing I like about it. You have 1 mission, you go in there, execute and then you walk away. That's my favorite.


What's your favorite kind of cardio?

Sort:  

Great Post

thank you, I'm glad you liked it!!

Congratulations @gallerani! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I used to do box jumps and a lap around my gym for three to five sets for my HITT. I'm a lazy fuck for now but I would love to hit that again.it lasted about 15 to 20 minutes total.

ooh I love box jumps, they're a great plyometric!

@sadkitten is countering 85% of @gallerani self-votes for 1 week starting Friday, August 17th 2018 because it is part of last weeks top self-voters. For more details see this post.

You should also mention that best time for any exercise is early morning ( Specially jogging or running)

cardio in the AM can be great!! I'm not a huge fan of lifting in the AM though

Well I just started doing fitness 1,5 week ago, after almost nothing for more then 12 years!... I think my body could have been a worsh shape then it is, after that bad treatment... I have done 3 days training and 1 day resting since I began and here is what I do:

10 min cardio (8 min walking + 2 min running).. so almost nothing to what you do: 30-45 min running I assume?.. I know I need to up this, but my plan is to do it 10 min the first month, then 20 min the second month and then 30 min the third month, which is my goal.

Then I do one day back, one day cheast and one day legs. 3 exercises of 3 sets with 10 repetitions all on the machines. I then do one stomach machine and one shoulder machine everyday.

I am sorry I didnt answer your question exactly, just wanted to share my experience... I can say that I feel very different in the body, both good and bad, but I believe if I manage to continue this plan, I will feel much better 1-2 months from now, loose weight, build muscle and have more energy.

Great post

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

You got a 35.83% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gallerani!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Congratulations @gallerani! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60859.14
ETH 2917.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61