PSA: Steem-Roller.com Offline After User Discovers Investment Bug, Will Be Down Until a Patch is Implemented!

in #gambling5 years ago

image.png

Steem-Roller.com user "idk" was nice enough to report a bug this morning that had to do with being able to manipulate the amount of STEEM in their balance by inputting numbers in a certain way into the investment amount input. At this time I'm glad to announce that while the site's currently down all users STEEM are safe and I'll be spending today fixing the issue now that it's been pointed out.

image.png

Users Funds Are Safe Due to White Hat

The user was "idk" able to manipulate the "actual" invested amount by entering improperly handled integers into the invest amount input, and from what I can tell they discovered this bug and only bet a few times before informing me that the error existed. Upon hearing that the site had a critical bug and that the bug was able to affect investors I immediately shut down the site in order to ensure no funds could be withdrawn with no damage was done to investors earnings.

Luckily user "idk" was a white hat and didn't take advantage of the bug they found, this situation could have been far, far worse however as it sits it looks like I should be able to correct this bug as well as fix any numerical errors on the site that were caused by this incident.

While certainly a stressful situation this morning with this bug being uncovered I'm eternally grateful that user "idk" reported this problem and rather than expliot it for their own personal gain decided to stick to the righteous.

Site Will be Offline Until Bug Patched

As shitty as it is as I was hoping to celebrate 7,000,000 rolls this morning the site will be offline until the problem has been corrected and the bug fix tested to ensure that it is no longer a threat to the operation of the site. On top of getting the bug fixed and the patch tested I'm also going to have to go through the investment amounts and the user balance numbers in order to make sure everything is in order.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused by this down time. :/


VOTE @KLYE FOR WITNESS!

Every Single Vote Helps, Thanks for the Support!

Witness Server Hosted Via Privex.io


Need to get in Contact with KLYE?

Join the Official #KLYE Discord Server Today!

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed a d I'm thankful for white hats like @idk

Come tell us about it on https://steemspeak.com

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm busy coding right now. I'll come in and talk about it when I got shit fixed.

wow honosurf and coininstant are flaghging you? thats lame/... upvoted to cancel the flags, that should do it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67