#1 Games of my childhood - Prince of Persia (1989)

in #game6 years ago (edited)

prince.png

Especially for my english-language friends, the article translated into english.

Hi,


I would like to dedicate this series of articles to the games. There are no games which are beeing played today. I will tell about the games I played between 1991-1995 years. Yes, there was a time when in Poland only the high scools and army had an access to an internet :). All games I played were working under the MS-DOS operation system on the IBM PC. Despite releasing the Windows 3x in 1990, no one heard about this kind of operation systems. All games I played were working on the usual IBM 286 computer with the 10 MHz clock speed (in the turbo mode), with the RAM memory of 512 kB, equipped with the two floppy drives 5,25 inches. Obviously, there were no mouse devices (I hope I don't have to write any further information about it) :). Yes, I know, probabbly no one heard about such thing as the floppy disk but there was a time when this data carrier was used. I was glad to have the computer. In the same time other people was plaing the funy games in the sort of the game console - Pegasus.

Therefore I decided to begin this series of articles based on my memory and on reminding the most interesting games I played.

My first professional equipment looked like this:

IBM_PC_AT.png


1) Prince of Persia (1989)


Prince of Persia was released by the Brøderbund Software company in 1989. It was a sort of arcade platformers game 2D. It had an awesome gameplay. The main purpose of the game is to save the princess. Her savior has to be an adventurer/daredevil who travels throught the chambers and fights with the people of evil vizier who imprisoned the princess and orders her to marry the Jaffar. If she didn't that she will die in 60 minutes which is the time to finish the game. It's not a simple task because the game contains over 300 chambers.

The main character has the following abilities: he can run, jump, fight with the aid of sword and solve the simple logical riddles. The very interesting things are the secret passages in the ceilings where you can find the secret drink/potion adding or taking the life. The game contains many traps which handicap the main task. The examples of such traps are the popping thorns or the traps which drop the platform. After successful finish of the game and as a result saving the princess the game character marry her and becomes the Prince of Persia.

At this time, the game may seem banal, but I've' spent several dozen hours to go through. This game is a mother of all next parts which are very popular too. As such as the film the Prince of Persia: The Sand of Time from 2010 is also derived from the described game. I certainly recommand for everyone. You need to search the internet, download any emulator and try your luck going back to the 80s/90s.

prince1.jpg


prince2.jpg


prince3.jpg




Greetings @mastek

Sort:  

I remember that game, then I played sands of time on Playstation.

Now it has some meaning to me 😉

thanks for the English version

These games were so much fun when I was younger. Thank you for posting.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

The examples of such traps are the popping thorns or the traps wich drop the platform.
It should be which instead of wich.

hey you must try this they are offering free 30 days upvote service for limited time. i am using it for 2 weeks, They upvote my every new post Click here to see the offer

Wooow , u r remember me for this games , I like this prince game , good luck friend @mastek 👍😃

Congratulations @mastek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98