The Gaming Madness. Where does it come from and where it is going?

in #game6 years ago (edited)

I think we can all agree on one thing for sure, the gaming market and it's community has been exploding as the years pass since the beginning of the invention of video games. But the success it achieved since 2010 is just off the charts. 

I don't really want to go to the era of first video games as I am only 21 years old i just had a glimpse of 8 bit games or other vintage games. But if we are talking about online games, I can say that i caught that train pretty well. Good old Ultima Online, the classic World of Warcraft action and then maybe the most cancer gaming experience for my country (Turkey) Knight Online, some Silkroad and more that I can't count all... Yes, the time when we had to make some explanations to our moms about online games. Sadly mom of gamers, no online games cannot be stopped in 2018 either. Like most of the things, you kinda miss what you started first, in this case the ones who played any of those MMORPG's will understand my feelings. We started our gaming careers mostly with such MMORPG's so if you ask any player like us they'll admit that they are missing the goold old MMORPG actions. 

So enough with my tribute to the legends. After that era what happened? We got old, obviously. While we were grinding for that item we always wanted in any mmorpg there were another group of people who actually didn't care that much of a long-time grinding and went straight into action. Yes, good old moba players I am looking at ya. 

In this writing I'd like to mention the games I've had experience with in my past so of course there are a lot of different respectable games. But in my meeting with moba it was the first world of warcraft and of course it is most popular mod/map defense of the ancient(DOTA). To be honest, even after being a solid mmorpg fan DOTA gave me a lot fun in a new sensational way. First of all it was whole different game type, genre, mechanics. But i sure did hell of a good job about getting the attention from the players all around the world.

Of course when something is actually successful there will be always imitations. Lady's and gentlemen's yes, you're correct. League of Legend has been connected in our lives in 2009. It became such a phenomenon since the very beginning of it's launch. It did not take much of a time since the start of official leagues creations all around the world. We kinda know what happened with that later on. 

    

Well then, shooter-fps games were always popular but not THAT much before H1Z1, PUBG, Fortnite era started. Of course we have to mention Counter Strike hold the flag for a loong while even before invention of these games but we have to accept that when the Battle Royal genre hit the market it actually hit the jackpot. It is insane how battle royal spreads into all world like a heavy rain even now. It actually injected in so many popular games as a new "game mode". Counter strike has battle royal modes, dota 2, path of exile, more i can't even count. It was a revolution really. Even though some old head gamers like me did not enjoy this type of games it is currently number one on charts. 

After making a short briefing about how online gaming proceeded I'd like to finish my writing with a question that I've been curious about for a long while. What is the next destination? Yes we tried moba, some of us loved battle royal, most of us spent our lives in mmorpgs. What will be next popular online gaming genre? 

I'd love to hear your thoughts feel free to comment. It'll courage me to write even more blog-type writings. Thanks for reading, it is been a long while since i paid a visit on steemit, sorry about. Hope we can have longer journey this time! Have a nice day. 

Sort:  

hi @realizeyes nice post
you upvote me & i also upvote you
I recently got Steve, together with you I decided that we can achieve a lot and develop rapidly. Let's increase steemit strength together. I follow you and you enjoy new acquaintances following me! ;) I will upvote you, you give me upvote plz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71