OST of the Day #17: FEZ – Home 🏡

in #game6 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

OSTs are really underrated but they're so good, so I thought I'd share a song a day and my thoughts about it! I highly recommend listening while reading! 😊

I don't think I've really done an indie game yet, which is strange because I really like indie games! So here are one of my favourites, FEZ!

Related image

If you've never heard of FEZ before, it is an indie puzzle-platform video game developed by Polytron Corporation and published by Trapdoor. In it, you play as Gomez, a 2D creature living in what he believes is a 2D world. Until a strange and powerful artifact (his hat, aka fez) reveals his 2D world to be one of four sides of a 3D world. The player rotates between these four 2D views to realign platforms and solve the game's puzzles.The objective of the game is to collect cubes and cube fragments to restore order to the universe.
FEZ met critical acclaim upon its April 2012 release for Xbox Live Arcade, and was later ported to many other platforms such as Windows, Linux, PS and iOS.

Here's the launch trailer!

I played this game in 2016 so it was already out for quite a while. But that's the beauty of single player games - it didn't matter if it was 4 years old by then because it still holds up. The controls are solid and intuitive, the story was simple but the small details here and there make you interested in the backstory. This was a very unique game and the first I've played that made me use a QR code reader! Even though it's a basic platformer-collectathon, I still really enjoyed it, especially decoding the secrets! I nearly 100% it with 14 hours so it's not a really long game but it's still really fun and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes 2D puzzle platformers. 😊

Anyway, here's the song I chose for today!

This song is aptly called Home, since it plays while you're at your hometown. It's also the first song you hear in the game once you get past the intro sequence.

Although this song is very electronic sounding with the chiptune melody and synth bass notes, it still gives me a very relaxing and homely feel. The slight distortion in the melody contrasts with the beats in the background and the castanets (I think?) really well. The echo from the supporting harmony gives the song its flow and with the distorted synth melody, it gives a peaceful feeling where you can leave your insecurities and worries at the door because you're home. 😌

Related image

When I think of FEZ this is one of the first songs that comes to mind. It's just so tranquil and relaxing. It's also why I really enjoy playing FEZ; I don't have to rush anywhere or think about much. I can just take my time exploring and wondering around, even when solving the puzzles.


The composer, Rich Vreeland, also known as Disasterpeace, did an absolutely amazing job with this OST. I read that he opted for slower passages with varying tempos that could "ebb, flow, and breathe with the player", and I definitely felt that while playing through certain portions of the game. I like that there are even areas where the music is in tune with the level and since I'm quite musically inclined, the songs have helped me to navigate through some platforming.

Related image

Unfortunately, there was some stuff going on with Phil Fish, the developer for FEZ. I read about some disputes with Microsoft after which, he basically took the money and left the indie game industry. What a shame too, many people (including me) would definitely have loved to see a FEZ 2.

Anyway, at least this game (and its music) will always be great.

Thanks for reading!


To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.vornix.blog/2018/10/14/ost-of-the-day-17-fez-home-%f0%9f%8f%a1/

Check out my previous post in this series!
OST of the Day #16: Child of Light - Jupiter's Lightning
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

wow thanks for the upvote! (:

Always delivering quality content on games and music! :D

aw thank you so much! (:

Congratulations @taco.cat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95