Lock In's Wanderer monster creative process

in #gamedev6 years ago

Render ps1sa.png

So I started with this sketch, which I was really inspired to do. It has to do with a fear of mouths with the giant teeth, crawling on the ground (weasel-y), with big grabby hands and feet that almost droop on the floor. These are all tied to a main character's background, of her worst fears. Think of a creepy pedophile when you think of this monster, that's what it basically represents. A
Monster1.png

As a side note before I get to the model, Silent Hill likes to overuse brown rotting flesh. I really just noticed it as I was looking for what I was thinking of when creating this monster. I think I will use some brown flesh monsters, but I will try to branch out a bit more. Since this is a spiritual successor to Silent Hill in some ways, I think it's best if I try to improve on the design ideas as much as possible, even though that's a really tough task. I think I can do it with Lock In. Also, the screenshot below is emulated, so it's not running at the actual PS1 res.
image.png

Silent Hill 1 Romper monster, meet the Wanderer. Here is an hd version of the model that I created in about an hour, last night, very low poly for the purpose that Lock In is supposed to be a PS1 game.
Render.png

Finally, there's the image from the top. Here's how the Wanderer will look in game (at least it's a close representative). It's been downsized to PS1 res, and then upsized to a decent viewing res.
Render ps1sa.png

Sort:  

Very cool! Can always appreciate the low-poly and low-resolution art of that era. Coulda fooled me that this was actually from a Silent Hill game lol

That's AWESOME to hear. I'm so excited and passionate for this game. It really makes me feel good to hear any response from it. :)



Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60