Putting steem to good use - My Own Steem Game, Chapter 1

in #gamedev6 years ago

After speculating the usefulness of the blockchain, I've started research on how I can build something new.



source

My Own Steem Game

My goal is building a game we can play on steemit from commenting. Writing this "My Own Steem App" journal is how I'm going to document my findings and experiments, but not in a very organized manner.

After running into a post from @thecastle talking about a dapp on the LOOM network on his post, once again my interest for expanding what we already have here was sparked. I hate seeing so much untapped, therefore wasted, potential.

The research so far

Googling has led me to understand some practical use cases of smart contracts, but I ended up discarding making a decentralized app simply because it's more complex and I want to get this done. So, initially, no smart contracts should be used.

Running into POCKET was illuminating. SBD doesn't need to be transferred to send and receive data, which wasn't obvious to me. The subchain they developed, using comments to make token transfers, is how I better defined what I wanted from my game.

Also, I assume it's easier if it's centralized, so for now it it's meant to be this way.

Game design

Something like steemmonsters without a frontend but implementing the actual battles over comments would be great. You could type "Let's duel" and they reply with "I accept". Any one of your 5 "active" cards would randomly be picked to battle his also random card. If yours overpowers theirs, you get credits and/or votes. Then you're put on a timer before you can request a duel again, although there's no limit to how often you can accept duels.

Cards have maybe two or three different stats and an element (that can overpower another element) which would all be used to determine the duel's winner. They would be balanced, so you should choose your "active" cards carefully if you want to triumph. Even if there's strategy involved, there's also luck because the active card drawn is random and the duel result is promptly announced without taking turns.

The game should be called something like Crypto Duelists, Digital Commanders, Chain Tamers, Project Fighters or whatever floats my boat best later on, but for now let's just call it Steem Tamers for now. Hey, maybe we could stick with it.

There's so much more I could include, but I should keep it as simple as I can. It's already complex enough. If all goes well, you could even go to wild locations / community events (posts) to tame and battle it out.

What's next

  • Getting a lubuntu virtual machine on my windows system
  • Compiling cli_wallet
  • Reading steem whitepaper a bit
  • Going through Beem tutorials
  • Setting up a python development enviroment in my virtual machine
  • Trying to understand a bit of POCKET's code

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

That can be an interesting game. I wish you success in creating such game.

This post has received a 1.54% upvote from thanks to: @felipejoys.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

You got a 87.87% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @felipejoys! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

You got a 2.65% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @felipejoys!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95