Tools For Making 3D Characters the Easy Way

in #gamedev5 years ago


I like making Orcs and Zombies because I can mess things up and just go along with it.
I start out with a basic humanoid shape in Blender, in this case using Manuel Bastioni Lab (one of my favorite tools, ever).
Watch this video tutorial for using BastioniLab in Blender
By tweaking the settings a bit I end up with an orcish looking character.
31241815_10156101988506578_1124481816015667200_n (1).jpg
I wanted a cartoony green orc to use in a game. I don't mess too much with the material and coloring in Blender, since I have to re-create the material in the game engine anyway. I mostly just whack-out the proportions, and give the character a new nose, some nasty teeth and eyeballs by stencil painting.

Testing the orc rig.


Since it's basically just a humanoid, I found a funny walk and jump animation on Mixamo, and made this little world in Unity to run around in.

Next up, I might teach the orc how to skate, so he can be a character in my Downhill Skater Game :D
I'm not good at writing tutorials yet, just wanted to share the tools.
And I feel there are a lot of tutorials already about them.
If you have any questions I'd be happy to help.

Thanks for checking out my post.
Images are from my Flickr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75