What is Dragonsteel in ASOIAF or Game of Thrones?

in #gameofthrones6 years ago (edited)

Hello, hello fellow Steemians. Bran the Blasphemous Builder here yet again. I have to apologize for my absence of late. I mentioned starting a new job, and it really has taken majority of my time. The physical aspect alone for 12 hours a day is bad enough, but I also have taken on a managerial role. This leaves little time for myself.

That's enough about me. This is an article I wrote a couple days ago and shared on amino. I hope to intrigue the book reader side of the fandom with this theory. Hope you all enjoy.

I wanted to share a theory, but my indecisive nature wouldn't allow me to choose which one, so I gave you all the choice. The poll is in, and you all chose, What is Dragonsteel? It was interesting to learn what you all would choose when given the choice. The options were for some more secret Targaryen's with new information I stumbled upon. For future reference, I will be showing you how Ned, Brandon, Lyanna, and Benjen all have Targaryen blood from a recent relative at that. That will be saved for a later time.

And second, an explanation of my theory of what dragonsteel is, as mentioned in the books. Now this theory is gonna be rather short, because for one it's more speculation that probable fact, but for two there's just not alot of information. Let's start with the quote.

“We knew all this. The question is, how do we fight them?”
“The armor of the Others is proof against most ordinary blades, if the tales can be believed, and their own swords are so cold they shatter steel. Fire will dismay them, though, and they are vulnerable to obsidian. I found one account of the Long Night that spoke of the last hero slaying Others with a blade of dragonsteel. Supposedly they could not stand against it.”
“Dragonsteel?” The term was new to Jon. “Valyrian steel?”
“That was my first thought as well.”
“So if I can just convince the lords of the Seven Kingdoms to give us their Valyrian blades, all is saved? That won’t be hard.” No harder than asking them to give up their coin and castles. He gave a bitter laugh. “Did you find who the Others are, where they come from, what they want?”

Jon 2 A Dance With dragons

tumblr_myjbitZqLy1s5jeldo3_250.gif
-Image From Here

Now it may be just me, but I took this as one of Martin's many mysteries. I know I'm not the only one, so it's rather surprising how many people take this quote to mean just Valyrian Steel. There's not much mystery to it if your characters have figured it out by the next line of text.

So I spent some time over analyzing as is common for me to do, and I come up with this.

I studied the word itself, dragonsteel. I broke it down into two words, dragon and steel. Thinking about dragons, I asked myself what are dragons.?

His horns were gold as well, and the scales that ran down his back from head to tail. “You’re lazy,” she told him, scratching under his jaw. His scales were hot to the touch, like armor left too long in the sun. Dragons are fire made flesh. She had read that in one of the books Ser Jorah had given her as a wedding gift.

-Dany 1 A Dance with Dragons

c040936a8af28e609609bbd913211a26.jpeg
-Image Found Here

Then my wheels got to turning. Many times throughout the books the term steel is used in place of the word sword. With that in mind I had a new definition for dragonsteel.

Fire Made Flesh Sword
Or
Fire Sword
Or
Firy Sword
Or
Flaming Sword

So essentially my theory is Dragonsteel Sam is referring to is Lightbringer, the Firy Sword of legend.

Hykroon.jpg
-Image Found Here

This also makes sense for there being a single account for a single sword. Also, it was wielded by the Last Hero, who many people believe is the Azor Ahai. So to me, this all adds up to make a very probably theory.

Thank you for taking the time to vote and read my theory. I know some of my thoughts are ludicrous, but this one is one I believe many people will agree on. As always, I greatly appreciate your time.

-Bran the Blasphemous Builder #408

IMG_20180628_113906.jpg

-Image created by my friend Darkness

Sort:  

These are very original thoughts. And I highly possible Theory. Great Fairy crafting once again 👏👏

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Congratulations @branthebuilder! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @branthebuilder! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @branthebuilder! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73