Magic the Gathering - Dominaria Draft Deck - (Slimefoot's Gang)(Green/Black)

in #games6 years ago

This is the best draft deck I've made in a long time. I was so surprised I didn't go 3-0. The only reason I didn't was because of a player with bounce and walls stalling a match to a tie. I had so much synergy and removal I dominated most games. (Click the images to enlarge them)

So many two drops, every single opening had I drew had at least two. The most expensive cards I played were four drops. I never got mana screwed. The slpit of colors was perfect. I never missed out on getting both colors in play. The tempo was the best out of any deck I've ran in a long time. Not many one drops, so most games were like this (turn one land. Turn two land and two drop, turn 3 land and three drop, turn four land and 3-4 drop...). No one could keep up.

Look at all these fungus/saproling cards! I have never seen a Slimefoot even passed to me before this draft, I ended up with two! I got all of the uncommon fungus, the only thing missing was an extra Fungus lord. The Fungal plots looks like a dead card, but I would suggest 1 in every fungus deck in draft if possible. Late game it gives you extra possbilities that may swing the game. With a slimefoot in play, I used a Fungal plot to do an extra 2 damage that won me the game that the opponent couldn't do anything about.

Now look at this removal! I ended up with 4 viscious offerings! This card is premium removal in my eyes. It kills many 1-3 drops in the limited world. -2/-2 makes you win combat like a trick, and outright kills many rares that have first strike or other obnoxious abilities. If you have a saproling to sacrafice it does -5/-5!!! This kills serra angels (which I did). This much kills almost everything in limited. Having four guarenteed I saw at least 1-2 each game.

Here are the extra mentions I pulled. Nothing of great value. I did not rare draft at all in this game night. I was super focused to make the best fungus deck I could and picked fungus commons over $1-2 cards. I still managed to get a rat colony and a rare or two, plus a foil. It wasn't a complete loss.

Overall, I think this deck was one of the best I have ever made. I would go as far to say that it would be semi-competitive in standard. I could have brought this deck with a couple more commons and uncommons from my chuck bin and done well in a tournament. I wouldn't pay anything to run this deck, maybe a free night. Saproling are a great archetype to run on draft night, I haven't gone wrong going this route in Dominaria.


Note from Author



I hope you liked looking at this deck. I had a ton of fun playing/building it. More to come soon!

Thank you so much Steemit community for following me and reading my articles! I want to foster a community for games on this platform. I hope my articles entertain as well as educate. Make sure to Upvote / Follow / Resteem all MTG and other card game content! make sure to use the hashtag #mtg #magicthegathering!


If you like this, check out my other current posts!





Donations

DogeCoin - DF8TAzAzV7xhvvS6Hr3Zg9Se12PNQrk6s2



Sort:  

Oh, Fungal Plots is a great card in any saproling deck, but especially in conjunction with Slimefoot. I've wanted to draft a saproling deck but it hasn't panned out for me, yet :)

It really depends on what everyone else at the table wants to play. I got super lucky and was the only person playing green/black for some crazy reason. If you can grab a Fungus lord, a few of the other uncommon fungus or slimefoot in the first pack with at least 2-3 supporting fungus creatures you are practically there already and it's all downhill grabbing removal and supporting cards.

This post has been upvoted for free by @microbot with 0.1%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95