Return Of The Text Based RPG?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #games6 years ago

I have big doubts about wether or not it would be doable as a business or in pretty much any way generate a serious (livable) revenue, but the idea of this type of game through text messaging has a lot of appeal!

Each segment before you type your action is not overly large, a decent fun little adventure could be played out a couple hundred characters at a time.

I don't know why it appeals to me. If it were available to me, I am not terribly sure I would play it that often... but I would sometimes. It being a "modern twist on a classic" would also mean that I could always pick up right where I left off. No launching a program or opening an app. Just scroll up to get caught back up and reply with my next directive. Maybe somehow a bit more open world?

Anyhow, I like the idea, what do you think? Be super curious what people thought about it. Again I can't imagine doing it as anything more than a hobby...... just seems like it would be fun... at least once in awhile.

Sort:  

I would enjoy it once in a while. Also it is interesting a game like this could be done on the blockchain

I thought that as well... just letting thoughts spill out here :) Thank you

@lordnigel is doing exactly this. He's just run his 6th tournament. Good fun :)

Hey mate. Look at @lordnigel's interactive battle tournaments.
He's incorporated bots for simple rolls, and players help write the story.
Really fun. Get involved :)

I will definitely check that out, thanks for the point in a right direction!

I think that there is definitely a certain demographic that would love to take a shot at this and with right advertising, there should be some nice earnings possible with this.

Could also see this as an smartphone app.

I was wondering the same, just curious if going solely text based how advertising would work...... would want to stay true to the genre ya know? Thanks for comment.

There's a bunch of mobile games that follow this initiative, dressed up with pretty graphics.

Essentially, choose your own adventure stories.

I definitely think these types of games are in need of a renewal!

I have seen some, just wondered if would still have an audience without any of the graphics..... strip down the graphics and go for a great story instead.....

Text based RPG indeed. It's so funny and to me, it's cool. I'd play it!

Great to hear! Thanks.

You're welcome

Congratulations @clevecross! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @clevecross! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I will resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. Read my profile @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06