You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homeworld Hits Windows Real Time Strategy Fans from 3rd Dimension – Today in Retro Gaming – September 28th, 1999

in #games5 years ago

i remember the first Homeworld game and how frustrating it was but I think a lot of my irksome moments were likely created by the fact that my computer was likely underpowered at the time.

I didn't watch the whole video but it appears as though most of the battle takes place on the ground, which appeals a great deal more to me than the 3-d aspect of the space combat in the original.

This is two great suggestions from you in a day. Awesome work.

Sort:  

I am in the same boat as you about my first experiences with Homeworld. I believe my computer simply could not handle it. This was a computer that would run Quake and Quake II just fine but any third party games based on those engines ran like crap (weird).

I am updating the article with a link to GoG.com where anyone wanting to give Homeworld a try can check it out knowing it will run on modern hardware.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88