Zelda: A Link between Worlds (game): Awesome for fans of old-school gaming

in #games6 years ago

I love the classic Nintendo games. In particular I enjoy the ones that are normally ONLY released on Nintendo such as Mario, Zelda, and Metroid. However, at times I don't really enjoy when the producers try to make it super modern and complicated. This 3DS game returns to the simplicity of the Super Nintendo circa "A Link to the Past" and I just love it.

maxresdefault.jpg

I actually haven't had or played a Zelda game since the Wind Waker - and i didn't particularly care for it. On a recent trip to USA i was going to buy a Switch, but I couldn't bring myself to spend $400 to simply get one Zelda game (the rest of the library wasn't really impressing me) so instead i settled on a 3DS with 3 games for just a bit over $200. This Zelda game is the first one I played and I am super impressed.

50848-0076jpg.png.jpg

I mean look at that! This is classic gaming incarnate. It functions in almost exactly the same manor as A Link to the Past for SNES, which was by far, my favorite Zelda game. I think right around the time that games started getting more complicated than SNES or N-64 games is right around the time I stopped having the patience necessary to master any of said games. This game has posed very little in the way of tremendous challenge and instead has focused on a great story and lush graphics (for a handheld.) The systems itself only has 6 possible buttons so it can only get so complicated.

50848-0076jpg.png.jpg

The dungeons involve some fun, yet not overly complicated puzzles and for a casual gamer like myself, it is just perfect.

If you are unaware of this, the 3DS does something strange with the top display that actually makes games seem 3-D. I am not going to pretend to understand how this works but it is pretty damn cool.

I just absolutely love this game. It is the first game i have ever played on the 3DS and so far, i feel like i chose the right game system to purchase. If you have a 3DS, get this game. It is simply incredible. If you like 90's gaming and don't have a 3DS, i highly suggest you consider getting one especially if you travel a lot like I do.

10 / 10

Sort:  

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59