Interview with Online Marketing Manager Matthew Chuen

in #games6 years ago (edited)

As you may have read in our biweekly update, we're welcoming some new members to the Hash Rush team! One of these is Matthew Chuen, a London-based marketer and gamer who is taking up the role of Online Marketing Manager. Unfortunately, this also means that I (Jochem) am leaving the team this week. So as part of my last work here at Hash Rush, I sat down with Matthew to discuss his background, his view of the game and introduce him to the wider Hash Rush community.

I plan to look into fresh, innovative ways to reach new audiences and generally make the whole Hash Rush digital experience amazing for everyone. / Matthew Chuen

  • Hey Matt, thanks for taking the time for this interview! Could you tell me, what are you doing at the moment — or what were you doing just before we started this interview?
Morning Jochem, well, I’ve just made myself some “breakfast”. I’ve been trying out this new meal formula called HUEL, so I’m getting used to a partial liquid diet. If you’ve never heard of them, check them out!
  • Cool, that sounds interesting. Let's start with a brief introduction. Who are you and what do you do? 
Sure, hi, I’m Matt! I’m a digital marketer who has spent the last 8 years working heavily on digital innovation, creative campaigns, social media and content marketing both agency-side and in-house for a range of brands.
  • For people that aren't familiar with online marketing, what did your work exactly entail? 
So, I've worked on quite a few influencer projects for different lifestyle brands such as Surfdome, New Era and Miami FC. My plan is to bring some elements of such lifestyle brands to Hash Rush, as there are some amazing crossovers with the gaming community.
  • That sounds awesome! So how did you come to hear about the Hash Rush project? 
Well, I actually came across it while I was looking for a new challenge. Being a gamer with an interest in cryptocurrencies, it felt like such a great fit. I then spent the next couple of hours researching and reading up on the company, before deciding I was definitely going to apply! And here we are!
  • What are your main responsibilities in the Hash Rush team, or what will your main responsibilities be, considering that you just started?
Well, my main responsibilities are to ensure that our online marketing is bang-on-point. We’ve got some amazing community managers who have been working on rallying the troops (here’s looking at you, Ernacks!) and I plan to help bolster this by looking into fresh, innovative ways to reach new audiences and generally make the whole Hash Rush digital experience amazing for everyone!
  • Cool! Could you give us an idea of what that looks like? Do you already have some exciting ideas to make Hash Rush's online marketing on point?
Well there's a lot of formulating that hasn't quite been pitched yet, however, keep your eyes peeled. You've done an amazing job so far, so I'll be using your progress as a starting point to bring some exciting things to the Hash Rush community! More will be revealed in time
  • Thanks for the compliment, and I'm looking forward to your new ideas! So what is your daily routine? How do you go to work, what does a regular day look like? 
No two days are the same, which is amazing. As a recent addition to the team, I’ve been in full-blown sponge mode. Sapping up as much information as I can and bringing myself up to speed with all the goings on. This has been greatly aided by yourself, who the readers will all know already!
  • Have you worked on other gaming projects before?
Well, this is my first journey into the world of gaming. “Longtime listener, first time caller” comes to mind. I’ve been immersed in the gaming world since I received my first computer, which was an Atari ST. I spent many hours playing the LucasArts point and click games such as Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade [see screenshot] and Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders and my love of gaming all spawned from that, really. 



  • Awesome, I remember playing Indiana Jones on our Atari as well. That was a great game! So I know you've only been working in the Hash Rush team for less than 2 weeks, but could you tell us a bit more about what you like about this project?
Well, pretty much what I said earlier — being a gamer with an interest in cryptocurrencies was a definite help. However, the entire game mechanic feels amazing. It's not only great for gamers and RTS fans alike, but also those looking to marry that with an introduction to cryptocurrencies. I mean, I often game for hours on end without an IRL reward, now I can actually get one!
  • So you're a pretty die-hard gamer yourself, it seems. What is your current favourite platform and game?
I am indeed! I've always been a gamer, all the way back to when I was Ernack-sized. I'm afraid that, just like Adrian, I'm "PC Master Race" all the way, and I also stream on Twitch. However, I do dabble in console gaming (mostly PS4) for those times when local co-op is the dish of the day. At the moment I'm playing a lot of PUBG, Rainbow Six: Siege and when I'm not in FPS-triggered mode, you'll most likely find me playing They Are Billions.
  • Cool, that's great. Well, we've come to the end of our interview. Is there anything else you want to share with the Hash Rush community?
I suppose I could totally plug my Twitch, seeing as I mentioned it earlier... I go by LoneOnion; there's an origin story behind that so if you come by, just ask and I'll tell you (disclaimer: it's not quite Marvel EU calibre).
  • Great, thanks Matt!

That marks the end of my interview with Matt Chuen. I'm confident he'll do a great job as Online Marketing Manager and will certainly help bring Hash Rush to the masses. If you're interested in reading more, check out the recent interview with Adrian Bugnar, co-founder of Tractor, Set, GO!. Or wait a few days for our next interview with Japanese Community Manager Yoshikuza 'Yoshi' Osada.


If you want to read more about Hash Rush and the game, go to our website, follow our blog, join our newsletter or talk to us on Discord!

Sort:  

You got a 4.21% upvote from @passive courtesy of @hashrushgame!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.55% vote... I was summoned by @hashrushgame! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

can't wait for the finished product

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91