Dice Bonanza!

in #games6 years ago (edited)

At the local purveyor of discounted overstock merchandise, I found a pair of cannisters containing assorted dice. I have seen this product for sale at prices ranging from $10-$15 elsewhere, but at $7, I decided to spring for two and compare the contents.

20181013_175351.jpg

It says, "60 dice, color and contents may vary." There are 60 dice. Both of these contained the same variety. Make of that what you will. The container is empty behind the label, so what you see is what you get.

20181013_175916.jpg

There are lots of d6 options, with a nice variety of colors and sizes. The four alphabet dice are all the same: O, P, Q, R, C, & D. I have no idea whether they will be useful for anything or not. Maybe they can be a test for making dice into jewelry. Edit: I tried just that! The 5 poker dice are interesting. The color dice could be good for something, although I can't think of anything off-hand. Twister? A color game I make up for my niece?

For RPGs, there are 2d20, 2d12, 2d10, 2d8, 3d6 with numerals instead of pips, and 3d4. One cannister thus could cover the needs of two Dungeons and Dragons or Pathfinder players, making this a decent deal on that account alone.

All told, this isn't the best deal on dice, but it's by no means a ripoff. If you find it for $10 or less, it might be a good option.

Sort:  

dice in asia are expensive ( small 6d - 'comes in the game' type of crappy ones) 3 = $4

I find that odd. I guarantee these came all the way from Asia.

I have a bad habit of getting the Chessex Pound of Dice bags, but this might be a good option.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can’t think either what the color or alphabet dice would be used for. Makes you wonder if they just bought out for closing or overstock dice and package them together. This is a bit funny places that deals with overstock goods are dealing with another failed attempt to unload overstock goods. Makes you wonder where they will go from there if they fail to sell them all.

Quite strange as well why they give you odd number of dice. I’m sure iin a drawer somewhere I have such an odd collection of random dice from over the years. At least they are keeping to the names theme it sure is a “bonanza.”

60 dice is technically an even number, and based on the off-center stamping on some of the pips, these may be a surplus from test runs along with overstocks from production runs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83