Why Warcraft Battle For Azeroth Ends 40 Years of Video Gaming For Me

in #games5 years ago

I have been playing World of Warcraft since 2007. I was an "intermediate player" - did some of the tough content, but had a good time doing a bit of everything. Blizzard was honest - they earned their $50 every two or so years and the monthly $15 subscription..

WoWScrnShot_033119_173512.jpg

I eagerly awaited BFA - Battle For Azeroth and started playing on August 15th or so. Within a month, I finished all of the content. Within 3 months, I had 6 level 120's. I went back to my main character and spent two months on my main getting very minor upgrades.

Basically, it turned into 1 month of new content followed by 23 months of repeatable content with a sprinkling of new content. After 6 months on Battle For Azeroth, WoW became a chore.

So I went to SWTOR for a week. After a week of SWTOR, I realized I had done everything I wanted to do with video games. I woke up one day with zero video games installed on my laptop for the first time since 2007!!

I started off with an Atari 2600 in the 1970's, moved on through consoles and computer games - PS3, PS4.. I loved Bioshock Infinite, LA Noire and many other games.

In the 1990's, we waited with anticipation for the next cutscene and story. In an era of YouTube and 55 inch smart TV's, the magic is gone. At least for me. What is next for MMO's? Are they done?

To be fair, I always spent more time on my main hobby - music. When you're done with WoW, you have your memories and your screenshots. Enjoy them!!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62