Amiga 500 Running Doom Like Game

in #games5 years ago

I was not one of those fortunate enough to own a Commodore Amiga back in the day. The closest I got was my brothers Commodore 64. So, for me the Commodore Amiga is almost a new platform full of some interesting games. Some of those games I recognize from console ports. In this case though, I am well acquainted with the First-Person Shooter (FPS) genre. Doom being the peak of the genre for me. Seems the Commodore Amiga was not all that well suited for FPS games. That is why this news is so interesting.
Doom game.jpg

Why First-Person Shooters are unique


For the most part, this genre is the closest we have come to “you are the character”. Most games have a disconnect with the gamer that must be overcome. Could be viewing angle, could be overall art style, etc.

First-Person Shooters often only have a gun graphic at the bottom with the game world in front of you. This allows you to more easily feel like you are in the game itself. This helped push the genre into the mainstream during a period that computer gaming was on the decline.

Ok so demoscener KK/Altair @KK_DMA just shown that he has made his own #Doom like game running on Amiga 500 in his spare (precious) time. How cool is that!😍@ID_AA_Carmack @idSoftwareTiago @idSoftware @DOOM pic.twitter.com/07FLoN1zuZ

— Michal Staniszewski (@bonzajplc) August 31, 2019

Why this Doom like is exciting


Apparently, the Commodore Amiga was not really suited for these types of games. That amazes me considering what has been done on the Amiga over the years, both commercially and within the independent homebrew community.

While graphically I am at a loss to discuss much considering the source material. What few points I can see show the game is close to what Doom was when first released.

That is right, you are not getting ZDoom or something with high resolution textures here.

The frame rate is a little rough as well from time to time – mostly in turning. That could easily be attributed to this being a work in progress of sorts. I am not sure if this will be completed or not, could be this is all we get.

It shows the Commodore Amiga could do it if programmers were to get down to the silicon. Check out the Twitter thread for it.

Please use this link if you want to grab a Commodore Amiga and enjoy the many titles fans have made available. Grab an Amiga on eBay or secure your next Commodore on Amazon. We cover many here on RGM. Your purchase costs you nothing but helps us keep the lights on via small commissions.

This article was first published on Retro Gaming Magazine, a gaming website I own.

Sort:  

i had amiga 600 :)

unless i am remembering incorrectly, Amigas were well out of my price range back when they hit the scene. I don't think I even knew anyone that had one. It was more of a legend than something I ever got involved with. :)

Same here. I knew about them but couldnt afford one, no matter how sexy the games looked on them in those old magazines.

I only use them now via emulation as the secondhand price is still well above what I can fathom paying for a retro computer.

Do you remember how much it costs compared to its competitors? That was before SNES right?

Yes, 500 was released in the mid/end of the 80s! I think 3-4x that of a NES/C64.

Never was there when Atari were a thing. Though I find it awesome that it can run a game this demanding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97