ADSactly Games Review - Rise of the Tomb Raider

in #gaming6 years ago

Asactly Rise Cover.jpg

Line Break.png

Rise of the Tomb Raider

This is the most fun I have had in many, many moons, the nostalgia is really strong in this game, I felt like a little kid again.

This was most definitely due to growing up with Lara Croft, from her pixelated block boob origins, to Angelina, as the real-life Lara in the movies, during the early nineties. Rise of the Tomb Raider is not the newest of games, and was launched in the beginning of November of 2016 exclusively to Xbox and then only two months later it was released on PlayStation.

I was looking through my game collection last week, as I was pretty stumped on which game to review. l posed the question in Adsactly voice hangout and @thedarksideshow recommended I review this game. I have already played this when it came out, so popped it in the old PS4 for a quick refreshed perspective, and I was surprised to see that it looks better than what I remembered, very much on par visually with the recent games.

Line Break.png

Rise of the Tomb Raider is set about one year after the previous 2013 game Tomb Raider, which for those of you not all that familiar with what had happened, it was pretty much a game reboot of the the franchise.

The previous game is very much an origins story of how Lara becomes the grave robbing hero we have all come to love. She basically gets marooned on a mysterious island off the coast of Japan, on what is one of her first ever expeditions in search of the lost kingdom of Yamatai. Everything that can go wrong, does, and she has to fend off the wild and dangerous animals and creatures that inhabit this island with nothing more than her McGyver-like savvy.

I fondly remember having to construct your weapons and gear from anything that you found and which was salvageable. I don't want to spoil too much for you if you haven't played the first game and this review intrigues you into playing it, so logically you can deduce that she makes it out of this predicament. I am an annoying stickler for detail and context, now that everyone is caught up with what happened before, we can commence with the real review.


"A famous explorer once said, that the extraordinary is in what we do, not who we are. I’d finally set out to make my mark; to find adventure. But instead adventure found me. In our darkest moments, when life flashes before us, we find something; something that keeps us going. Something that pushes us." - Lara Croft


Ads Rise 03.jpg
source

Ads Rise 10.jpg
source

Line Break.png

The game kicks off one year after her island ordeal, and Lara is searching for answers to what she discovered on Yamatai. This leads her to her late father's research into the lost city of Kitezh and the promise of immortality.

She sets off on her expedition and heads to Syria, hoping to uncover the tomb of the Prophet of Constantinople, which seems to be the key to this legend. Upon arrival and with some epic puzzle solving she discovers an empty tomb, a clue leading her to her next destination.

Before Lara can leave she is interrupted by Trinity, an ancient order of knights that now exists investigating the supernatural, the bad guys. She just manages to get away with the location of where to pick up the trail. These very exciting pressured moments that happen throughout the game are, at times, very suspenseful and unexpected.

Ads Rise 11.jpg
source

Ads Rise 05.jpg
source

Line Break.png

The clue, leads Lara to a historical Russian book in her father's collection, which unfortunately, gets stolen by a Trinity assassin just before you can lay hands on it.

Luckily she finds some clues in her fathers work and it's off to Serbia you go with your buddy Jonah. This is pretty much where the game begins, the first few hours of play are mostly you familiarising yourself with the controls and feeling of the game. You begin your adventure in Serbia, by crashing into the mountain and getting separated from your friend, where you find yourself alone in this harsh, ice cold environment fraught with danger.

Lara needs to gather any resource available to survive the the cold, and this is where she has to craft her first bow, which is one of her most valuable tools, and reliable weapon. You'll use this to hunt animals in order to get better clothing from animal furs, the bigger the animal the better your gear can become. You pick up parts for better weapons as you progress, everything can be upgraded and I found myself spending hours hunting for specific animals and salvage to better Lara's equipment.

Ads Rise 08.jpg
source

Line Break.png

If you have been following any of these game series I have been writing you will know how much value I place in a good story, in my opinion it's what makes the game experience.

Rise of the Tomb Raider is a masterful piece of work with regards to the story. I found myself on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. The game blends between gameplay and cutscenes flawlessly, and at times so unexpectedly, I almost fell off the couch trying to grab the controller in order not to die.

I really felt like I had been transported back to the first time I watched Indiana Jones, it's the ultimate adventure story, and being a game it does not end within two hours. The character is very well written, and you can easily connect with her on an emotional level, and feel apart the character as she grows with everything she has to go through.

Ads Rise 06.jpg
source

Ads Rise 01.jpg
source

Rise of the Tomb Raider was developed by Crystal Dynamics, who have made a few of the next generation Tomb Raider titles, as well as the Legacy of Kain series, which all of you old school gamers should remember.

It's published by Square Enix, and that's why the cutscene animations are so visually spellbinding. It's the same guys that made Final Fantasy. The game is available on PlayStation, Xbox and on PC, and because it is more than a year old you could pick this up for probably next to nothing.

I give Rise of The Tomb Raider a solid 9/10.

Ads Rise 07.jpg
source

In case you missed it, here is the previous game review

Bad Feeling Tag.png

Thanks for popping in, I hope you liked the post. Please leave me your thoughts and/or opinions in the comments below, have a beautiful day!

Ads Rise gif.gif

Line Break.png

untilnexttime 2.png

Line Break.png

Adsactly Banner New.jpg

Game review for ADSactly by MorkRock

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not
necessarily reflect the official policy or position of ADSactly

✯ ✯ ✯


**Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adsactly-witness/adsactly-steemit-witness-proposal
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

Sounds like very exciting game, the graphics are amazing.
I may have to go litle of the subject.
I’m not sure where to replay my comment, but since you were the author of this previous post I leave it here.
I was really inspired by your recent post https://steemit.com/food/@adsactly/adsactly-food-scotch-eggs originally posted by @princessmewmew especially by the best recipe presentation I’ve seen. So I decided to give it a try. Not that I’m a great cook, but sometime I love to make some surprise for my family. Unfortunately I didn’t have all the ingredients from your recipe so I had to compromise a bit. Instead of pork sausages I had to use 93% lean ground turkey, 6 eggs, instead of anchovy files I used tuna in oil 😱 I added my favorite spices such as oregano leaves, basil leaves, sweet paprika, bread crumbs, pepper, salt, little bit of parsley, chapped onion, garlic, mustard and little bit of lemon. I didn’t have enough bread crumbs so I decided to cook it in the oven. Honestly, I was little worried with the result, especially using tuna instead of anchovy filets, but at the end I had to do it. I thought to myself “it’s just a test” or not, if I cook I’m certain my family would want to try it. When it all cooked I was really pleasantly surprised.

My family loved it, it felt like we were at the restaurant.
Thank you and @princessmewmew for a great inspiration!

Omg that’s amazing that you made this, I will most certainly let @princessmewmew know about this!!

Thank you!
Perhaps I should post this at @princessmewmew instead. I just couldn’t resist, her recipe presentation was amazing.

Wow! I am so chuffed you did this!

What a great outcome 💓💓💓 the mince is completely interchangeable and you could totally even use soy mince. The bread crumbs just add texture, and I’m so proud to see your egg yolks done properly even though you did it in the oven!

Good on you!

I’m so flattered by your kind words.

I’ve followed you xxx

Thank you!
I’m glad you got this, I wanted you to know your posts got impact on people, at least on me did.
Likewise, following you!

awesome! are you on discord?

Sometimes, just like everyone else.

After Crystal Dynamics's Tomb Raider in 2013, it was right to choose to mature Lara by adding family to work. Naturally, although character development is not as obvious as in the first game, Lara Croft's path through the game is clear from the beginning to the end.

Still, it can not be said that the story is quadruped. It fits perfectly into the grip of the game and manages to keep it on top of it with some surprises (although some of them taste pumpkin). But Rise of the Tomb Raider is a game based on adventure and discovery, and this is reflected in the story. If you do not see more than that, you do not expect to experience emotional well-being, you can tell that you will be generally satisfied with the story.

You're quiet correct, now that I think back to the first it didn't have as much story as the first game, they could have given the emotional connection with her father some more depth by adding a tad bit more back story.

despite being less original in its treatment than its predecessor, Rise of the Tomb Raider is an almost perfect success that corrects all the errors of a reboot yet placed from the start on track. Although its scenario is not very original, it is an excellent excuse for a crazy adventure and cleverly paced. With its tombs, caves and large levels to discover and rediscover thanks to the tools you get throughout the adventure, Rise of the Tomb Raider finally incorporates the exploration aspect that was lacking the last title of Crystal Dynamics. Less dark, less violent, this suite is a journey through time and space that gives the game an undeniable charm. Despite a good life (21h without hurry, rate of completion to 70%), we leave the adventure sated but sad that it is already completed ... So for the pleasure of the eyes and love the beautiful game video, we will relaunch with pleasure its part to target the 100%, or all over again. And that, in 2015, it's rather rare when it comes to an AAA! This is probably what makes Rise of the Tomb Raider one of the best titles released this year.

I do agree I dig fill correct a few thing that was lacking before, they were fairly minor. I have quiet the affinity for this and I would put Uncharted up there along side this, I do believe it has something to do with going up on Indiana Jones.

I bought the PS4 version of the game and finished it yesterday, and I must say it's one of the best games I've ever played, I felt so badass with all the new combat and stealth mechanics and the tools for climbing are awesome, I also loved the game's story because it is very similar to previous Tomb Raider games (Ana is literally Natla and Konstantin has similarities with Larson) also Blood Ties is flooded with references to previous games 😍 Also Endurance mode is hardcore af it is designed to kill you at every camp you enter and the crypts have plenty of traps, the only thing I would change is that the traps are easily avoidable and I expected more traps during the main campaing. Sorry if this comment is too long, but this game is extraordinary and every detail counted for me💓

I think the Endurance extra feature was the cherry on the cake, and it was was co-op which rocked, had my brother playing with me so we would take turns carrying a lantern around for heat while the other would fend off bears and wild life. It was super epic!

I miss the days of yore when Tomb Raider wasn't so straight and had more multifaceted level plan. The last TR was fun and everything except for it genuinely did not have the sort of test that really made TR not the same as generally recreations. The recipe of stuff severing soon after you hop it or and the floor dropping out at simply the perfect time was done well in the last amusement yet they have to really step it up and influence the player to work now. In the old TR diversions the traps were really intended to murder you, the riddles were more troublesome and far reaching, it didn't let you know were to go and the hopping was really testing.

At long last, the last amusement would have a fabulous time if there was a bad-to-the-bone mode that implied that enduring one shot would mean passing. On the less demanding settings finishing segments impeccably isn't hard and it looks impeded to see Lara getting shot in the face and simply dismissing it. I say this in light of the fact that the extremely realistic style of the diversion doesn't mix well with the old school 'get shot 5 times in 5 seconds and you are dead'.

If there was one thing I could change or add the this TR it would be some more puzzles and make them harder, they did feel pretty easy to complete and did not require major brain power.

Great game just fantastic

Is it also on PS4?

Not only PS4 but on other platform including PC it works fine.

hmm i liked pc gaming

Ya, one of the advantage of PC is that we can upgrade component one at a time and for ps and xbox we have to buy whole system for upgrade.

You made me want to go out and buy this right now. The game looks awesome!

Tomb Raider has always been one of my favorite franchises. Thanks for posting! Great review!

Everything that is shared here is very interesting red dead redemption 2 pc

aku I really like games

very nice post and good review by @adsactly

I give Rise of The Tomb Raider a solid 9/10 too !

I agree with the idea that Rise of The Tomb Raider is a action that deserves to give 9/10!

beautiful game :o

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97