Let's Make a Level for Duke Nukem 3D, Part 26

in #gaming6 years ago


source

Last time we added the room where the player can obtain a medkit and rocket launcher. I've changed it up a little since then, now the rocket launcher is behind the explodable wall where the steroids used to be, and the steroids are obtainable by blowing up the glass tube.

This is just to require more backtracking, since before, the steroids were right next to the crusher hallway where you use them. Anyway this is how our map is looking so far. Pretty good if I do say so myself, and in fact I just did:

Not much remains to be done. I'll be adding ambient sounds this time, to spice up the atmosphere. But I've also made a lot of little tweaks and done some polishing here and there.

For example, the textures on the sides of the slanted pillars in the end boss room get darker now as they get further from the light sources. If you go back and look at how it used to be, it was too "flat" before, lighting wise.

Had to go ingame to get a screenshot of this effect because it's animated. The green slime now has bubbles that rise from it, grow, then burst. There's a specific sound that goes with this effect too.

Having placed the music and sound effect sprites, I give them a lotag of 88 which corresponds to the ambient bubbling noise in the sound list, and a hitag which defines the radius of effect.

Since it's always circular and walls don't stop sound, I have to place multiple in the long corridor rather than just one. The faint dotted circles are the radius of the ambient sound from each sprite, which grows louder as you approach and fainter as you move away.

I've used a single ambient sound sprite in the jumping puzzle room because I can completely fill that space with a circle and not have it overlap into other rooms. It will sound like "energy flow" or the hum of a reactor.

Another bubbling sound effect here because of the slime. I didn't go with that for the jumping puzzle room despite the slime at the bottom because it's further from the player than the reactor rods are.

The vertical platforming shafts will have a generic tech ambience to them. Of course the radius and choice of sounds will change after this and require fine tuning, just like the textures and lighting did.

This one's a little different from the rest. It's an echo effect. It emits no noise of its own but makes it so any sound within that radius echoes by an amount specified in the hitag value of the sprite.

I also added echoes to the slime corridor and crusher corridor, as long corridors typically do have an echo to them. I won't overuse this effect or it'll become noticeable and irritating. Just a little bit goes a long way.

Now the outside area and it's duplicate. There's an ambient wind sound audible everywhere in the actual outdoor area the player is able to get to. But in the duplicate, all that matters is what's audible from inside the ship. So the wind sound is only audible next to the cockpit windows, along with soft computer ambiance.

Now some dripping ambiance for the cave area with the glass tunnel, and some soft computer ambiance near the medical console behind the beds in the "sick bay".

I think that's enough, at least for starters. I'll go through the level later and listen carefully to see if any of it is overbearing, or needs to be increased. That's all for now though. I'd say we're about 90% of the way done at this point.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Good move, bursting the glass to get steroids. Anyways sounds of the game are the most important. There are plenty of skills I've learned from playing video games. It's more interactive than watching TV, because there are problems to solve as you're using your brain.

Sorry if this was mentioned in one of the other parts, but how will we be able to play this? Load it with mapster or inside an og version of duke3d? Standalone .exe? It's looking fresh.

Mapster is the level editor. You will need eDuke32 to play this, a modern source port of Duke Nukem 3D which permits maps with up to 4 times the sector and wall limit. You can get it here.

It needs the file "duke3d.grp" from the Duke Nukem 3D game folder, copied into the eDuke32 folder to work. Specifically Duke Nukem 3D 1.4 "atomic edition" because the map uses many textures from that version which aren't in the earlier 1.3d version of the game.

Then you can optionally install the Duke Nukem 3D High Resolution Pack to modernize and beautify both the graphics and music.

After this you launch eDuke32, go to new game, then to "user map" and select this map from the list that appears.

Rad. I'll get my rig ready for this badboy.

I wish I know all about game design and mapping, but I don't. So I just sit around and wait for when I can get my hands on the finish product. The way you give so much attention to details means it's gonna be just dope.

You invest a lot of your time into this I see, I don't know how I could do this for so long. You must really be into making maps. I tried it on a updated engine for csgo one time and I thought about jumping off my house because it looked so bad

When you first mentioned “ Let’s build Level for Duke Nukem 3D” I thought “Ok, few rooms perhaps” And now we are at part 26 and this thing looks more professional then ever before. Heads down! This staff is crazy with all these traps, underwater creatures...I still love these vertical platforming.

Vertical platforming has been integral to Metroid games since the very first one:


source

The map looks wonderful. Moreover the tunnel features are giving a great touch. Dimming the light as we go forward is a masterpiece touch. I wonder how much part of game is finished or is it too early to say. Anyways i am getting curious more and more.

Duke Nukem is one of my favourite games of all time I'm very glad to be following your progress you're doing an awesome job. If you need this map to be beta tested I would be very happy to play it and give you an output.

Sounds are very important .. I didn't care about the sounds when I first started gaming , used to keep them on low..
But now I always use headphones as adds intensity to experience..

Looks like it's coming along pretty well. Have you tried to build any levels and run them through Vorpx to use your oculus? I'm sure that this game would run really smooth. The only downside would be that you would have to use your controller instead of the touch pads.

No need, there's a VR compatible fork of eDuke32. It doesn't work that well yet though so I'm giving it more time in the oven before I use it regularly.

yeah definitely you should add some sound too that will add life to game and people will be more interested in game, most of us like a game having high quality bass sound, you should have one, and the modification in the walls is awesome... you are doing a great job man.. keep up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63