I can hear dogs barking in the distance

in #gaming6 years ago

When it comes to technology, I'm always a generation or two behind. I bought an Iphone 4 a couple of weeks before the five arrived on the scene. Same with the Samsung Galaxy S4.
Only last year did I buy my first gaming keyboard (they've been out for how long now?) and I love it, especially the feel when writing.

So it should come as no surprise that yesterday I bought my first gaming headset, a concept that's been out...for ages.

My wife had enrolled my son in a school holiday online course for 3D modelling but only realized at the last minute that he needed a microphone to talk to the teacher online. I figured a headset would be better (and I could find a way to use it to - I'm not a big gamer but I would find a place for it) and while at JB Hi-Fi I was ready to buy an el cheapo Logitech bare bones unit for $30.
Cheap, effective, no frills.

Of course that never goes to plan, instead walking out with this thing:

IMG_20180703_114406.jpg

Complete overkill for talking to teachers online of course, but I have three of the four things on the box it says it could be useful for so why not? My son seemed to dig the experience:

IMG_20180703_130318.jpg

Where as I wanted to hurl them through the window a mere half an hour into ownership for not wanting to co-operate with my PC. What it doesn't tell you on the box (I had to search online for any clue) is that if you have a green and pink sound plug hole on the back of your computer, you're going to need a splitter.)

Guess what doesn't come with the box?

So the splitter is on order (thanks eBay) and last night I figured I'd give them a whirl with the Xbox One. So I plugged them in, set them up and drum roll please...nothing. No sound, no explosions.
Back online I went for help and the best I could find was to unplug everything and start again. So I did that and sound suddenly appeared.

Delicious, incredibly clear and jaw droppingly beautiful sound...

IMG_20180703_231355 (1).jpg

Holy hell, I just unlocked a completely different world through my Xbox. Suddenly I could hear the crunch of the road as my Dwarf Warrior walked around in Dragon Age: Inquisition. There was the howl of the wind, the crack of lightning, the patter of rain. Swinging my hammer sounded like a cannon going off when I hit something.

Everything I couldn't hear through normal levels on the TV suddenly came flooding through in droves. Dogs barking, soldiers practicing their swings, the sloshing of water as you wade through it. Crystal clear and crisp and everywhere I traveled.
It's taken a game I'm already highly impressed with to completely new levels.

NOW FOR THE BAD

While these LS20's have a solid feel (not too heavy either) and start off relatively comfortable, they get a little uncomfortable after half an hour or so. Also the cord is too short for the back of the PC (it's fine coming out of the Xbox One controller). They can be used passively (like basic plug in headphones) or with the boost mode with really gets the sound going but you have to remember to charge them via usb (it gives you 20 hours boost time).
For gaming late at night without waking the house up, they're brilliant until the discomfort kicks in.

Still, I can't say I'm sorry for spending $99 (down from $179) on something that my son and I are getting plenty of use of at the moment (as I type he's exploring every sound he can through Minecraft).

Now for my plug from eBay to arrive so I can test the potential recording side of things and mic quality.

For now though it scores 3.75 out of 5.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95