Reasoning of a middle aged gamer...

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

I love Minecraft... That's not something a grown man should say... right?  Should I be ashamed?  Should I keep it to myself?  Screw that, I'm proud of my Minecraft skills.  I consider myself a top notch monster killing machine creator.  :D   

Why does a 40 something guy with a masters degree spend actual life on a game that is so popular with "kids"?  I would have to say its about creation and control.  Creating something from scratch is so satisfying and Minecraft provides a fun and easy outlet to get that creation positive feeling.  I also think it has to do with control... in this world that seems so complex and out of control, Minecraft allows a participant to feel like they have control over the world... a 16 bit virtual world but a world nonetheless.  

I used to be obsessed with fps (first person shooters) then it was MMORPG's but now it's about creative games like Minecraft, Creativerse (is it better than Minecraft?) and Crossout.  Creativerse is a direct updated version of Minecraft and I find it even more fun.  Crossout is a game where you create vehicles and go to war in a team death-match scenario (super fun but also very p2w).  Now I'm trying out a game called Portal Knights, it's like a mix between Minecraft and Zelda, the combat is really fun.  

So there it is, the cards are on the table. I'm a middle aged gamer. LOL.  Should I feel shame for that?  I don't think so... some people spend their spare time bowling or golfing.  The best part is that the older I get the less I care about what people say or think about me since really that isn't any of my business.  It seems that logic would dictate that doing what you enjoy is the most valuable reasoning for any human as long as it's not hurting anyone.  

To all my fellow older gamers, I salute you!  


AA.  

Sort:  

I'm a 49 year old gamer and I love minecraft. I'm not ashamed of it either. :D

Me: Hi, my name is DeanLogic and I'm a createverse addict.
Group: Hi, Dean.
Me: I only played 2 hours of a game last night that was a demo and I don't know what to do with myself. I guess it all started with Railroad Tycoon, Civilization and Age of Empires, but this seems so much different.
Group: We understand.

Congratulations @anotheragnostic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75