You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unicorn Robot Party Card Previews with Hand Drawn Pictures as Concept Art

in #gaming4 years ago

I didn't even realize there are communities making board games, but I stumbled upon one when I was trying to find gear to make the first version of the board game. I was surprised, even though I shouldn't be, as it's so easy to find people with similar interests on internet if you really try. Otherwise it would be quite impossible, as you said, there aren't too many people making board games.

My board game is a kind of treasure hunt in a dungeon, filled with traps and monsters. I would make a post about it, but if I would ever be able to publish it commercially (which is unlikely), people could finally recognize me from Steem. So it's a shame that when I finally have something cool to post about, I can't post about it without risking my anonimity on Steem :D

It's interesting how your game evolved like that. PVP has great potential and if you manage to get it work out well, it can be really awesome! Do you have people interested you'll test the game with? With enough people testing there's always someone who can come up with the OP or game breaking playstyles.

Sort:  

Yeah the internet is good for that. Sometimes it is websites specifically for the interests but other times it is stuff like subreddits or facebook groups. Tags on here can work similarly too but it's still different to something like a focused subreddit to a degree (not better or worse, just different). I've had chats with people on here before about video game development and taken part in one of the steemitjams(steemit game jam) but unless I'm looking under the wrong tags, card and board game development seems a little rarer on here. Ofc there's stuff like subreddits before it because there's more reddit users than Steemit users, but hopefully we see a bit more over time on here. I see board game and card game reviews on here (still not as common as video game content though) and that's cool but not much on the development side of things.

It's interesting being online too because it gives you a different idea of what types of people are doing things too than you might find otherwise. I have a couple of video game development programs ranging from ones where you do most of it to semi-drag-and-drop ones and I remember reading a discussion about the age of people using it and there were a lot of people in their 70s and 80s making video games with it. It's not the demographic I would have expected but I'm not totally surprised either. Just not what you expect to see. Much like Shirley Curry for that matter (80 something year old who makes Skyrim videos).

Your game sounds interesting. I've played a few dungeon based ones (including one where you essentially made the dungeon which is kind of flipping stuff like Munchkin on its head) and they all tend to be reasonably different from each other. I hope it works out well. Conceptually it sounds interesting. I don't think I've seen much of traps in dungeon based board games before. Most of the time it's just been monsters I think.

I do have people to test mine with. My partner and I have friends we do Dungeons and Dragons with about once a week and we play board games with them and some other friends too, but less often than D&D normally. They're people who play a range of board games so they are good for testing that sort of market (I guess the market of people who play the sorts of games you would buy at actual games shops as opposed to people who only know stuff like Monopoly) and we'll definitely do it but I'll possibly try a wider audience for playtesting too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67876.87
ETH 3852.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65