Buddy Event Recap with Volbeat and Illumise globally

in #gaming4 years ago

thumbnail.jpg

Over the past week we've had the Buddy Event in Pokémon GO. Which was focused on your Buddy Pokémon that earned Candy twice as fast and also got excited faster to allow earning more hearts easier without the use of a Poffin. I've made some good buddy progress with my Genesect and also earned some hearts with Darkrai on some days. I'm kinda unsure why I'm making so much progress with this Genesect though because it's not the best, and once EX-Raids come back I might easily get a better one from those. Guess I'll just keep this Genesect from the A Drive to Remember quest line as extra memory of participating in it.

This event also had a few Pokémon appearing more frequently in the wild and in 5 km Eggs. These were Alolan Meowth, Chansey, Eevee, Feebas, Lillipup, Joltik, Volbeat, Illumise and Woobat. Only Chansey and Woobat were not more frequently in 5 km Eggs. Woobat has been added new to the wild since this event, it was previously available as February's 7 day Research Breakthrough encounter reward. Now that the event is over, Woobat has been added to 2 km Eggs as well as staying available in the wild. Volbeat and Illumise are somewhat regional Pokémon, in that they only spawn on one half of the world. With this event they appeared in the wild globally and Shiny Volbeat and Shiny Illumise were added to the game. They could also be obtained from Field Research tasks.

As I live in Europe, we have Volbeat spawns over here. So for me Illumise was new. Here you can see a picture of my first Illumise encounter from the event and its Pokédex registry after capturing it.

Illumise encounter and Pokédex registry.jpg

During the event I mostly focused on Illumise, but also did click on all the Volbeat I encoutered. I just didn't catch them every time. One of the first days of the event I was able to encounter a Shiny Feebas, that's my first one as I had not been lucky yet to get one with other events. Unfortunately it looks like I forgot to take a screenshot during the encounter so I don't have it included in the next picture. Another day in the event I encountered a Shiny Lillipup which is also my first Shiny of that one! And on the last day I encountered a Shiny Eevee. They can be seen in this picture.

Shiny Lillipup and Eevee.jpg

When it comes to Volbea and Illumise I was unfortunately not lucky to get either of them Shiny. Which is especially unfortunate for Illumise because I can't encounter it anymore. Perhaps they'll do an event like this with them spawning globally again in the future so I have a new chance.

My Illumise from Field Research tasks were usually not quite good IV wise, but I managed to hatch a 96% Illumise from an Egg! I managed to trade some Illumise with a friend too, while keeping proper distance, and was able to get a total of 3 Lucky Illumise. Two of them are 91% and one is 93%. You can see them in this picture.

Best Illumise.jpg

My phone still doesn't want to charge really well. I haven't been able to buy a new cable yet to try that out, so I may not be able to play much Pokémon GO these next days while the phone charges so badly. When I put the cable in the port with a slight tilt sideways it does seem to be charging up much better, but I kinda have to leave the phone alone then or it could easily stop charging. So I'm not sure that would work while walking around with it attached to the powerbank. Now I'm unsure if it's an issue with the cable or with the charging port. I can't have it cleaned out right now cause I don't have that product to spray in it and the repair shops are still closed. I also might have to consider getting a new phone because this one is over 4 years old. I've got no idea yet what I would get if I'd end up buying a new one sometime soon. A friend recommended me the Xiami Mi 9 SE.

How did the Buddy Event go for you? Did you manage to get some Shinies?

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68