Will Game Collecting DIE OUT? Retro Game Bubble Burst?

in #gaming6 years ago

Steemit, let's get RETRO!

Will game collecting die out? Will retro collectors give up the hobby? Will new-age gamers be given a choice if gaming goes completely digital in the future?
Is this possibly a GOOD thing, or is it something to be worried about?

Here is my take on video game collecting, it's future and what it could mean if everything goes digital!

Would LOVE to hear your opinion on this topic! So remember to hit this video a COMMENT below, FOLLOW me here on Steemit and remember to UPVOTE!

See you next time!
-Wood

Sort:  

If it does, you shave your head

I'm mostly worried about the new generation of games, even for things like the PS3 and newer.
With games that have online based accounts/logins or need to be online for the game to be played.
If these games are not available and supported as digital downloads, which I am sure a lot of them may be.
I am worried that as I have seen in the past, many games even today can't be played anymore as the companies no longer support them, through either servers or people don't play them anymore so even if the game is still supported and you join up to play there are no people playing it online.
Not like the older consoles where you can just put in a cart and play with a friend when ever you feel like it.

I wanna eat you.
I mean beat you.
In games

I dont see, that Games which already have a collectible value will ever have a "burst" in it.

As a collector, I would both love and hate to see a burst.
On one hand, I miss the days where I could spend a weekend browsing garage sales and flea markets, picking up the games I wanted to add to my collection at... well, garage sale prices, usually less than $10.

But on the other hand, the idea of having a financial fall back if ever I NEEDED to sell is somewhat encouraging. The thought that say... an N64 collection would hit the same price point as an Atari 2600 collection is... well I dunno how I'd feel about it to be honest.

I dunno. At least it won't ever be like Beanie Babies.

I think it will come and go, but never be gone forever. I find I revisit it frequently!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55