Pimping out my desktop!

in #gaming5 years ago

There is nothing better than receiving a nice large package in the mail... especially if it is going to be a little treat for yourself! So, just as a little bit of a backstory... I was setting up a laptop (powering a full size monitor) for my oldest child... to be able to play games and to do some very simple children's programming. Anyway, I had realised later that the speakers of the laptop were pretty poor at best... coupled with the fact that that laptop runs a touch hot (it is an old gaming laptop....), which means that the fans are constantly whirring (well, blasting is a better word for it!).

So, of course, this is a great excuse to upgrade my system a little bit... She would get my old speakers (which are a decent but old Philips set with two desktop mini towers and a big boxy bass woofer. So, pretty decent stuff still... but I was looking for something a little newer.

In the end, I settled for the Razer Chroma Nommo (weird name...). I was eyeing off the Razer Leviathan with a bar speaker.... but that was going to cost more than I wanted to spend... plus, the Nommos were on a pretty good discount at Amazon and so it was.... plus, it was high time that I started going down the RGB lighting route...

Hmmmm... something that I hadn't counted on was that they are pretty big for desktop speakers! I do regain the space under the desk as I no longer have a large bass box, but these guys are going to take up a bit more on desk real estate than I had expected! Still... it was high time that I tidied up my desk anyway...

Haha... in the end, I just shuffled everything over... I will tidy my desk later this week....

So... here they are with a touch of tasteful RGB lighting... in the dark, they look pretty alright.... they can be cycled through the whole range of colours and be responsive to the sounds that are playing... I'm going to be playing around with the Razer software sometime later this week. If the lighting is responsive to the in-game sound effects, that would be super awesome!

However, now I'm thinking that a keyboard with RGB lighting would also be pretty cool... if I'm going to be playing in the dark more often, then at the very least I'm going to need some back-lighting. I can touch type and I'm pretty okay with gaming by touch (the little known side benefits of being a musician!)... however, a touch of lighting is good for those times when you are springing around the keyboard!

Anyway, the most important thing... how do they sound? Well, initially I was a bit disappointed... the bass response was very much less than the Philips bass box. However, after tweaking around with the sound equaliser (something that I didn't need to do with the old set-up due to the physical speaker sizes...), I was able to get a great sound out of the speakers! The bass is present without the unclear woofiness of the bass box, and most importantly the clarity of the sounds is much much better!

I've always eyed off Razer products (I'm a gamer after all...), however they do charge a large premium on their brand... so, I've never ended up getting any of their gear. However, the recent releases of the Razer Blade Advanced do have me very interested... however, they are priced pretty high. Anyway, my wife is due for a laptop upgrade... which means she is likely to get this laptop that I'm currently working from (it is a still very decent XPS15). She doesn't have a great amount of computing power that she needs... and gaming laptops have moved ahead in leaps and bounds since my last one. So, hopefully... in the next year or two... I will move onwards and upwards... maybe I'm going to be a Razer fanboy?

Steem-Monsters (aka the best blockchain game out there!)


Humble Bundle

Have you heard of Humble Bundle? It's a place to get some really great deals on Games, e-books and comic bundles. However, if you sign up for a Humble Bundle Subscription (12 USD per month) you get some really nice bonuses!

  1. A 100+ USD bundle of games delivered direct to you each month, redeemable on Steam, Uplay or direct download (depending on the game). This includes recent Triple A games!
  2. Access to the Humble Bundle "Trove", a list of 60 games (and growing...) which are free to play as long as you remain a subscriber!
  3. Additional Discounts on the Humble Bundle store, with the choice of supporting charities, Humble Bundle or developers in whatever percentage that you wish!

Humble Bundle Subscriptions, it's a no brainer for the dedicated gamer!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

I love seeing Amazon boxes!

I keep it to headphones for most computer tasks ... The real speakers are in the lounge room.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love to use headphones for gaming.. but unfortunately, I've got to keep an ear out for crying toddlers... so, noise cancelling or just plain open backed headphones are not a good way!

Looks pretty good to me my friend.
But then again anything does.
I work on this old PC and we have become personal friends.
It has a 2 Gig memory, which means that I have to transfer things continuously to a 1TB external plug in HardDrive, but it works and that's good enough for me.
Blessings!

Wow... well, if it works then it works! I'm a complete nerd though, we all have our little things where we like to tinker and have the best we can!

And here I was thinking my PC room was a bit messy and disorganised! 😂 😂 😂
Nice setup!

I'm always here to make others feel better!

Well enjoy the improved sound! Guess that this is more important for you than it would be for me!
Cheers,
Peter

Well, it's pretty okay for music... But for that, I would wear headphones instead. For gaming, it makes a big difference!

As a former Philips employee I still work with a (small) Philips/WOOX bluetooth speaker but I will be looking for something stronger soon. Thx for showing this. By the way my 3rd floor where I work is 4,5 meters high so some power is fine.

Oh, for your room you would want something with a bit more power. This is okay for desk work... But you might want something with a dedicated bass bar?

I do have neighbours but some bass is fine.

Always exciting to smell something new out of the box!

I know! It is like being a kid again!

I hope your eldest is happy with the new setup. Good parent

Posted using Partiko Android

I think she is liking it... unfortunately, the laptop does run hot... I might need to repaste it!

Didn't know Razer also produced speakers too. The sound from that bad boy must be amazing after the tweaking that you did. If it were me I would just settle from the sound that came out of it. Wouldn't realize that it could be improved.

Razer does heaps of things now... although, I'm still tempted by the Blade Advanced... but I can't really justify it at the moment! Anyway, tweaking the sound equalisers is really the easiest thing to do... after all, not all sounds and situations and hardware have the same frequency response, so the basic flat response is not likely to be the right fit!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87