Gaming & PTSD (How Video Games Helped)

in #gaming6 years ago

This is the first time I address on camera that I have been abused and that I have PTSD. So far it has always been in writing or implied. Now I have said it, without fear, without shame, knowing the power that I have to heal.

In this video, I talk about how elements from video games helped me with certain PTSD symptoms and certain other aspects of the mental illness with which I live. I draw some examples from Dragon Age, SWTOR and such. How when symptoms were intense, I used video games to alleviate these symptoms and get me through some of the rougher patches of my healing process.

Sort:  

I nominated you for a black and white photo challenge, shots that represent an appreciation of you... https://steemit.com/photography/@arbitrarykitten/7-day-black-and-white-photo-challenge-and-bw-photo-contest-entry

Oh cool. Does it have to be a picture that I took myself or can it be a royalty free image too?

The rules are on my post, but yes- your photo. Something that represents a factor in your life. But don't post an explanation-just the rules, then nominate someone else :)

OKidoki. Guess I need to find some images I've taken then XD Thanks for the nom. This seems like a fun challenge.

I thought you'd like it :)

Join us for a daily chance of a steam game code by solving a little riddle:

https://steemit.com/@dailysteamcodes

Great post. Thank you for bringing this to people's attention you have been really informative.

Thank you :)

No problem at all :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71