You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [3D and Illustration] Making Game Tokens For Tabletop Simulator

in #gaming6 years ago

Wow these turned out great! I am on the opposite end of the spectrum where I think I would be much more likely to just draw a design, but seeing your process is really cool! I love the in-depth discussion of converting stats from one system to another, I think your decisions made while "winging it" are solid and the end result is faithful to the original concept. I am glad you got this post up because I have been waiting for the next installment of Gaea's Worst and this means we must be getting closer! Hooray!

I also just took a quick gander at your other recent posting from past week that I missed since last time I visited you - I have to say I am so impressed with the overall quality of your posting. You rock!

Much love - Carl

Sort:  

I accept that everyone in the world is probably better work with a pencil that I am. I have access to some of the most advanced drawing and sketching software on earth – and I am a lousy artist. It's okay, I accept that it's true, but half the time when I am dealing with this sort of thing my primary drive is to figure out a way to work around my personal lacks and lean more heavily on the things I'm better at. Like engineering.

We are getting closer to the next installment; in fact, I'll go out on a limb and suggest that it will happen in the next week, but don't hold me to that. A lot depends on whether some other things come together, and I can pretty much guarantee that it won't be before Wednesday when my new, ridiculous mouse comes because the mouse wheel on my current mouse has gone the way of all flesh.

It's very sad.

Have you ever tried to use modern applications without a mouse wheel? It's insane. It's almost impossible.

I'm glad you're enjoying what I'm laying out there, and if you know other people who are into tabletop gaming in one form or another, send them on over. I don't even care if they are members of Steemit. If you know some people who like gaming, have them read. After all, that's how we get more gamers.

Glad to have you aboard!

Hey it is funny you said that because it hadn't really occurred to me to share things on Steem with my non-Steem circle but here I don't think anything will terrible if we cross the streams. I am, in fact, sending out an email to my "real world" D&D group tonight to schedule the next session and several of my players are big wargamers. I am absolutely going to include this link in my email :)

Cheers - Carl

I am always sharing my posts with the communities that I'm already part of, especially if they're not on Steemit.

I think of Steemit as, first and foremost for me, a blogging platform that works and does basically what I need. It's not as pretty as Medium but, if I find the right audience, the people on Steemit can reward me as they think it's appropriate. But people who aren't from Steemit can still enjoy the content, can still derive gratification from the exposure – and honestly, that's more important to me than the money.

Make no mistake, the money is nice, but what I really want is more people to enjoy the stuff that I'm creating. I don't care who they are or where they're from.

Make sure to tell your wargaming buddies about some of my previous links, too, because if nothing else they're probably going to get a kick out of someone wrestling with Tabletop Simulator and Fusion 360 just to make illustrations for blog posts. It's kind of a crazy idea.

Keep pushing the crazy, because it's all we've got!

I shared you with my group. That sounds slightly off.

I have been trying to get a couple of my players to post on Steem, one in particular makes a living painting minis and making terrain and other related stuff. He is an amazing painter of miniatures in a very realistic style. I think his main thing is Warhammer 40k but I know he does a lot of different stuff.

You can feel free to pass me around like a new pledge during Hell Week. I'm up to the challenge.

A really good painting blog that occasionally did some well lit video pieces would go a long way on this platform, I firmly believe. There are enough artists of various kinds that they would have a built-in community to start with, while looking to build their own audience.

That's a sure winner. He should get over here ASAP.

I was absolutely delighted to see this get the coveted @curie resteem my friend, so cool to see quality RPG content like this getting some exposure and good reward here.

I have also nominated this post to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on steemit.chat (@carlgnash) or Discord chat (@gnashster).

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Sure! I write so people can read it. Of course anybody can quote me and use the content in reference to my work. That's why I put it out there, after all. If I was that crazy protective about it, I certainly wouldn't put it out in public.

I'm not exactly sure what kind of brief statement I would want to attach about it, though. I generally let my stuff stand for itself. If it can awesome, if it can't – there will be something else, eventually.

Actually, now that I think about it, that might actually count as a statement about myself or anything else to be included. Man, this is getting very recursive very quickly.

I'm glad you think this is the kind of content people want to read. I'm happy to keep meandering around in the devastated terrain of my head and writing down the travelogue as long as anybody else's willing to keep reading it.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82