7 Days to Die - An Unoptimized Joyride Through the Wasteland [Review]

in #gaming4 years ago

top.jpg

Introduction

7 Days to Die was started with a Kickstarter in August 2013 by The Fun Pimps, described as "An open world, voxel-based, sandbox game blending the best elements of FPS, Survival Horror, Tower Defense and Role Playing Games". The Kickstarter broke its goal of $200,000 and raised $507,612 from 13,876 backers. Since then, the game has gone through various alpha versions, with its current being Alpha 18.1, which came out a couple weeks ago.

20191002141026_1.jpg

Performance

First, let me address the "Unoptimized" part of the title. I'm currently rocking an i7-8700 with a GTX 1050 Ti and 12gb of RAM. Certainly not a powerbuild by today's standards, but still nothing to scoff at; I can run most modern games at decent video settings without turning my GPU into a supernova. This game, however, heats my poor baby up to ~65C with the lowest possible settings, and even then gets the occasional stutter. HOWEVER - this hasn't stopped me from pouring my time into it; I've actually even optimized my airflow in an effort to keep my PC cool during my longer play sessions. This game is addictive. It's worth noting, however, that they've made improvements. The developers are actively working to make this game run better, and it shows. The latest patch added occlusion (don't waste resources rendering things the player can't see), making a big difference.

20191003080114_1.jpg

Note the tree blobs - I sacrifice the visuals for the gameplay

20191005164525_1ff.jpg

Setting

The game takes place in the near future after a third world war has left the Earth in ruins; No one knows whether it was radiation, a biochemical weapon, or something else, but the remnants of humanity have been transformed into mindless zombies. You'll find them either wandering the wasteland, or clustered together in the games various Points of Interest. These can range in size and variety from large to small, and you'll come across cabins, cities, farms, factories and more.

20191005170011_1.jpg

Here I am coming up on a city while riding my bike. Later on you can unlock motorcycles, and trucks.

Most of the buildings have been destroyed, leaving only rubble and remains - but some survived the fallout, like this water treatment plant. These are the places you want to go if you want the good loot.

20191005170122_1.jpg

Gameplay

After finishing the short set of initial survival tasks, you'll head towards your first trader outpost where you can, well, trade, but pick up some quests as well. The quests work in a tiered system, and progressively get harder. Once you clear out a couple cabins, or abandoned houses, you'll soon be raiding old businesses, hotels, and hospitals.

20191002140909_1.jpg

Just about everything that you do will give you XP. Not just zombie slaying and questing, but mining, crafting, and building as well. As you level up you'll gain skill points to spend and improve your abilities. They also added skill books in the latest patch that give unique perks, and an additional one when you complete a set; For example, one improves your bartering skill if you have a .44 magnum out while talking to the trader. Give me a good deal - or else, buddy!

20191008152808_1.jpg

Conclusion

I'm usually not a big 'Zombie-Game' person. I never really got on board with Left4Dead, and ofcourse I've played nazi zombies like every other 20-something year old, but this is the first zombie game that really grabbed me. The couple times that I've played on multiplayer servers have also had good communities. All in all, this is a great game to lose yourself in.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have a wasteland to raid.

20191008085001_1.jpg

Sort:  

Hi chanbam,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hello Hello!

When I read the title I imagined in the horror movie the girl from the hoop hahahha how crazy I am

Greetings from Venezuela

Congratulations @chanbam! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I trust that I have never lost myself in any game !! however, reading the reviews of those who like you play, it seems to me very funny !! by now I think I passed the age to do it :-))

Very interesting to review this game (I had never heard it). I don't like the name they gave it, although in most video games you have a chance to die, hahahaha. A cordial greeting @chanbam

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts on the game. It's always great to hear what other players think, especially when it comes to a game as complex as 7 Days to Die.

This game looks like it has been through a lot of changes over the years, but it's great to hear that the developers are actively working to improve its performance. And I get what you mean about it being addictive - there's something about surviving in a post-apocalyptic wasteland that just hooks you in. If you're interested in hosting your own 7 Days to Die server, you should check out this 7 days to die server hosting. They offer some great server hosting options at affordable prices, and they're optimized specifically for running 7 Days to Die. Plus, they offer a ton of customization options, so you can tweak your server settings to your heart's content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56