You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make Games Great Again! 🎮 [Rant]

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Great post @juozas

You are right it is all visual and instant. It is a bit like the current film industry, everything is action, in your face, CGI and rushed characters.

I grew up playing on the Sinclair Spectrum 48k and there are a couple of good examples of what you are saying here.

Two of my favourite games were Dungeon Master and Footballer of the Year. DM was a text adventure role playing game and captured my imagination with its simple yet creative system. Very little in the way of visuals, hell, even the sounds were basic but it captured me and I was totally addicted. I played this with a buddy of mine for hours.

FotY was a role playing game with a little action thrown in. You were a young budding footie player trying to make it in the game and in life. The game economy was set up so you would earn a salary and that give you a chance to earn opportunities to score goals (live action)in the coming games. This played on my heart strings as a wannabe football player and again, totally captured my imagination. To my knowledge nobody has even attempted to recreate this as a stand alone game in the modern era.

Captured my imagination. I think these are the key words. Nothing is subtle or left to chance these days. Its in your face, make a buck and move on. Sadly.

I also had a Master System and a Mega Drive. Moved to PC and then back to a console with the original X-Box, Wii and then to the Playstation series.

Thanks for posting.

Gaz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87