[Relishing Experiences] Learning through Gaming

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

At an early age,

I was introduced to pc games. One of the games I played was the Age of Empires. I was exposed to more games like Pocket tank, Red alert 3, Civilization 5 and most recently Starcraft 2.

collage.jpg

Starcraft 2 Experience


Because playing Starcraft is the most recent game I have play, I will tell you more about it. The game mode is known as player vs. player. When I started playing Starcraft, I was attracted to the 1v1 feature because it pits my skill with another player’s skill within the mechanics of Starcraft.

Plus, it was then my first time to have a real person as an opponent. I realized that I could choose to play an unranked or ranked play. In Ranked play, it lets me play a couple of games to determine my skill level whether it is bronze, silver, gold, and so on. It has a ranking system for one to level up if I reach a certain match-making rating. The unranked play is simply 1v1 without any ranking system involved.

With that in mind, I decided to keep playing and hone my skill in unranked before I would go on ranked so that I would be placed on a high rank. I kept playing unranked for fun and not worrying whether I would lose or win. Later on, I discovered that I could watch the replays of my games! Thus, I used the replays to learn from my mistakes. And I would watch online to learn what other people do.

Soon, I felt like I was ready to play a ranked game. Every time I would click the join queue button, I felt like it was the most important game of my life so I would ready myself and focus. For the first game, I felt so happy winning, but I knew I would have to play 4 more games to be placed in a league. So I readied myself once again.

Not too long after, I won my second game and third game, but my happiness turned sour when I lost my 4th and 5th game. I was strongly anticipating what league I would be placed in and felt scared that I would be placed in the lowest league, which was bronze!

Fortunately, I was placed in the gold league, which was not bad. Then, I continued playing ranked to reach my goal of getting to the diamond league. I won almost all of my games, and I would get long win streaks. Then, I noticed that I felt a hesitation to continue playing because there would be a possibility to lose, and that would end my win streak. But of course, I wouldn’t rank up unless I played, so I had to overcome being scared to hit that button.

I would later on discover that what I was feeling is called ladder anxiety. So some of the things I did to overcome this feeling was to pretend that I was playing an unranked game, and I would not mind or put emotion whether I would win or lose because I if I did, I would get the fear of playing more having in mind the possibility of losing my hard earned points.

I would simply treat a lose by saying to myself, “Okay, I lost; what did I do wrong? Oh, ok I will do this next time” and continue playing. Sometimes i would be like a emotionless robot that is continuously clicking the play button😂.

These techniques helped me find the courage to keep playing ranked. Though the feeling of ladder anxiety lingers whenever i play ranked, i has definitely lessened. And due to frequent playing, soon, I got to the diamond rank! 🎖

diamond craftech.jpg

One of the features of Starcraft 2 that helped me play the game well was the chance to review the game I played in the past. This enabled me to learn from my mistakes by helping me see what I did and what should have or could have done in that certain situation in the game.

What I learned in Starcraft 2


In playing the Starcraft, there were always days that I won a lot, lost a lot or had a win- lose situation. This situation made me feel annoyed because after I played a bunch of games, I was either close to the next rank or I got further away from it. This taught me not to give up especially in times where I lost a lot of points and sometimes even got demoted.

Extra: Clash of Clans


I also played some mobile games like Clash of Clans. This game is about building a village, raiding other people’s bases with troops to loot their resources, which will be used to create troops, infrastructure and upgrade them. Resources like gold, elixir and dark elixir can also be obtained through the collectors, which mine a certain amount of resource per hour.

Upgrading things in a village lasts a certain amount time like 30min, 1 hour or even 24 hours, and one can speed the process up my using a valuable resource called gems, which can also be traded for resources. After hours of playing this game, I learned to be patient and to hold on to my gems to spend them for more important things like resources instead of spending them to speed up the time for upgrading.

coc.jpg
steembanner.png
Picture Sources
Ra3
Civ V
Pocket Tank
AoE
CoC

Sort:  

Clash of clans has been my favourite game. Nice post @craftech

@munawar1235 great! thanks for visiting.

Congratulations @craftech! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I used to play Age of Empires but I quickly grew into Empire Earth. Very similar to Age of Empires but much much better in my opinion (the original and original expansion only, the sequels changed developers and play style).

Anyways I'm getting off topic. After I got into Empire Earth, most of my family did as well. I became the #1 player in the world in that game for a solid 7+ years until I retired.

I specialized in the "Middle Ages" which aligns with Age of Empires, but the game spanned over 15 epochs.

I remember I had a player speed of around 13,000. The average expert player speed was around 300. The average non-expert player speed was closer to 80-100.

I would literally run across my house, from one side to the other, through multiple rooms, playing on more than one account at a time.

I was the leader of the oldest and largest clan on the game which lasted up until the game was taken offline in around 2008-2009 (several years after I had retired). I did a google search of my old username on the game a moment ago and found some old forum posts talking about me and me interacting as well. Those were some great times.

Starcraft 2 was the next RTS i got into after EE, but it was never the same. EE was my baby, I was obsessed.

I remember sitting in class and planning strategies down to the micro-second. I knew exactly how long it took for this unit to walk this distance and build this building, etc. It was almost sickening looking back haha, but god it was so much fun!

Maybe one day you and I can dig up an old copy and setup a LAN and try our luck at the game again. There are no more online servers anymore, and you'll have to get past the old graphics, but the actual game play was phenomenal.

@sasha.shade wow! you surely had a lot of fun back then! I would be delighted to try Empire Earth!

@craftech i can tell how engrossed you are in the games 😃; play is a fun part of life!

@lemonchum haha, thanks :)

Hey craft! :) hehe.. i remember playing many of those games. For me, I would say I played warcraft 2 the most. I also played starcraft (is that why u chose the steemit name u did) but never tried to rank up like u did. that's very cool.

I trade cryptocurrencies now, and like gaming, u win some but lose some , too. learning to approach it almost like a game (unranked) helps u trade the way u should, without letting emotions control u.

@chinito Cool! good to know gaming and trading can be similar in a way :)

I have been tru this kind of gaming, well, just the clash of clan,
I was engage before also at counter strike and red alert!
It was fun indeed

I giving you some redfishcoin too
From the redfish community

@albertvhons thanks!; glad we share common interest :)

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @craftech! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @craftech to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

I loved the orginal Starcraft and its expansion..I never got play part 2.. Great explaining @craftech .. Makes me want to go get it now

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @craftech to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64