Hide Or Die... Will It Be Good?

in #gaming6 years ago

The upcoming asymmetrical horror royale multiplayer has lots going for it: large, procedurally generated maps, dark ambiance, creepy killer design, immersive HUD, and just the right level of unpredictability.

But will it be able to stand out among its competitors? Personally, I vote yes, and here's why.

For any multiplayer game to thrive, it must have replayability. If the maps are too predictable, the strategies too one-sided and meta-oriented, or the character abilities/choices too linear, the game will get old fast. This is one of the reasons why some have grown cold to Friday The 13th: The Game and Dead By Daylight.

Hide Or Die mixes it up by meshing the genre with the royale design. If the success of games like Fortnite and PUBG are any indicator, this is an ingenious game design that will take HoD far into the future. Its dynamic will be to combine the horror concept of exploration (by finding items like loot, and gaining XP by completing objectives), building your personal profile to influence future games (not unlike the rogue-like elements in Hunt: Showdown), and wrapping it up neatly by giving no music hints to either Hunter or Survivor. It's purely skill/awareness vs skill/awareness, and that notches the multiplayer tension up to 11, all the while adhering to the nostalgic tropes of single player horror games that we have immortalized.

That is my argument, and now I must confess something... this was only partially about Hide or Die.

This was also a test to see if I even want to continue on Steemit anymore.

It's come to my attention that most (if not all) of my followers are either inactive accounts or bots, which makes my efforts to provide content and blog posts here futile. If anyone out there has been reading my blogs, please, let me know.
Speak out. Let me know if anything I've created has been of value to you.
Because if not, I might just leave Steemit.

Despite the corruption of Google and YouTube, I've managed to actually build a community there that interacts with and appreciates my work. It may be small, but my 55 subs there are infinitely more engaging than the 300+ that I have here.

The future of my blog here rests in your hands.

I currently sit at 364 followers... let's see how many new followers I get with this post, while still, somehow, gaining absolutely no feedback or interaction from any of them.

Have a good day. I truly hope to see you all in the future, if you're even there.

Sort:  

Man, 10 new followers in under 2 minutes. Why am I not surprised? lol

(I wonder if I can farm bots for anything lucrative...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48