Kratos, You're The Best.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

And if you've played the games, then you know I'm right. It's nearly impossible to top mass-deicide as a premise.

Anyway -- About an hour ago, I was talking to a friend about having played through the first three God of War games, and like the oceans of blood spilled by Kratos, my mind flooded with memories.

Kratos was so awesome, and his adventures were so fucking fantastic, that I couldn't pick up another game and feel anything for more than a year. How was any other game going to satisfied me after I'd tasted delicious godflesh?

I'd killed all the Olympians and all the Titans. There was nothing left to do but suffer through my first existential crisis of the gaming variety. Every other title simply did not include Kratos carving his way through some embarrassing pantheon of gods. They were all -frustratingly - about something else.

The limitless amount of cutting, smashing, stabbing and breaking that takes place over those games still fills me with good old fashion deicidal joy.

I figured there must be some people out there who need a little bit of that old school godslaying bloodlust to make their night. So here you go:


Remember carving your way out of that ridiculous titan, Cronos?


Crushing Theseus's head in between those massive doors?


Punching Hercules in the face until his head was a pile of meat and bone?


Sawing the leg off Hermes and stealing his magic boots?


Beating Zeus so hard that the screen fills with blood. You think the game's frozen, but then Kratos wipes the blood away so you can keep smashing? Do you remember that? Do you? By the way, if you need a reminder, here's a clip of someone punching Zeus for a full hour.

Sort:  

Oh my damn, I remember playing GoW 1 on the hardest difficulty, ah, all the profanities my 13 year old self was able to muster !

Remember having to keep my PS2 on during the whole night, because it was bed time and there was no check point in that final boss fight.

The fight a thousand Kratos' battle -- so difficult.

Beautifully written! Sure made me feel like playing some GOW right now.

Thanks -- I feel the same way.

Thanks for the review I will get the game.

It's kind of a review/flashback about the whole series, but obviously I recommend playing it -- especially if you like butchering deities.

The new GOW looks interesting, I like that you'll now have a companion. Reminds me of The Last of Us, I hope the story is as good as the last us!

Love this game. i want to get the new one that they released.

Absolutely - Viking Kratos sounds awesome.

Started playing on ps2 now ps3.. Have the box set.. To be honest my favorite part is the hidden adult material stuck in them.. LOL

Congratulations @decimus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.82
ETH 3616.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19