Dropped Game Discussions - Paper Mario: The Oragami King is a Puzzle Game, not an RPG

in #gaming4 years ago

image.png

Since it's been so long since my last one, Dropped Game Discussions are where I talk about a game I don't really feel qualified to give a full review of for one reason or another, but do still have some thoughts to share. Going into the new Paper Mario, the game is clearly a Puzzle Game in how the combat plays out. It's not an RPG with puzzle elements, it's pretty much just a series of Puzzles you solve for the combat. Fun fact about me, I don't like puzzle games, never have. So of course I dislike the combat, but this also puts me in a position where I'm hardly a qualified judge on it.

What I can say, however, is at least early on they get repetitive. I felt I was doing the same thing for multiple fights, and I can't imagine that would be enjoyable for someone who is a big fan of puzzle games. The game is quickly feeling like it's just going to be a series of quick and easy puzzles repeated several times, and that doesn't feel at all appealing.

I will say the game does have a certain charm and can be pretty silly and fun both narratively and visually. There are some fun visuals relating to the fact everyone is Paper and the villain is folding everyone up like Oragami, there are a lot of silly non-sequiturs that pop up which can be funny, and other things that make it feel, at least thematically, in line with other Mario RPG games (I have still not played Thousand-Year Door sadly).

Don't go into this game expecting a new Paper Mario game, and don't go in expecting an RPG. Watch some videos on the combat to see if you like this kind of puzzle or not, and that will pretty much tell you how much you'll enjoy this game. For me, I just can't find a way to enjoy playing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62