You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My childhood love of gaming grew in bars, not arcades. Let me explain.

in #gaming6 years ago

I was lucky to be raised with 2 big sisters that had an NES, Super Nintendo, and Sega Genesis. We played Mario Brothers, and Sonic the Hedgehog since I was about 3 years old. I say played loosely because I basically put my hands on their hands and tried to figure out how to play by seeing what they did. Later on at my sitter's house, a parents friend and now I consider her my second mom, her sons had a PS1. I played the shit out of that with them, and I would watch them play games, and that developed into me picking up games at the little rental store in Kroger and at a Video Vault. I played titles like Tomba, Klonoa, Spyro, Tekken 1-3, Medieval and other random games. I loved it. I also loved getting those demo discs!

Eventually I found a demo disc with some of my still-favorite games of today on it. I remember it had Silent Hill 4, Burnout 3 Takedown, Metal Gear Solid 3, Shadow of the Colossus and other games that I love that I can't quite remember what they are now. You're probably thinking, that's a damn great collection, and it was. I didn't know what Silent Hill 4 was, and I thought it looked kind of stupid. Funny thing is, Silent Hill is now my favorite game series, and Silent Hill 4 is my favorite game. Burnout 3 is also my favorite driving game with the best soundtrack ever, and SOTC is obviously awesome.

Anyways, that was my experience with how I found my love for videogames.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. My older daughter is 4 and I will soon be breaking out some old consoles so we can start gaming together, from the beginning starting out on the 2600.

That does sound like an amazing demo disc. Those are some of the best games released on the PS2!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63214.03
ETH 3274.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86