A Quick Introduction and Remaking My First Game

in #gaming6 years ago

Hey there Steemit community my name is Darrell Wulff. I am a 23 year old guy from California who is currently working towards getting his piece of paper that says he is qualified to mash the keyboard (I am trying to finish my computer science degree). I found this community just by chance really and think it is a really interesting idea with cyrpto-currency.
I am an aspiring game and software developer who is taking the journey as a solo "indie dev" for now. Growing up playing games I feel so much has changed over the course of lifetime in the gaming industry. There are so many games being released every single week it is absolutely impossible to play most of them. I feel its important for me to be realistic about what I am getting myself into by going after game development since it is a pretty competitive field.

I've always been a person who loves to spend their time creating things. Whether it was music or building legos when I was a young kid I loved putting all my little ideas into different creations of mine. I feel games and software are just another extension of that tinker inside me. Though that is really enough about me we should get to the actually interesting stuff, the games!

What is this monstrosity?
This here is my first game I made in Unity that I released publicly! A pixel art mobile endless runner game called "BitBot Runners" in which you collected little squares called bits all while trying to avoid all kinds of different unfriendly obstacles. I released it onto the Google Play store in 2016 after stressing and rushing it out into the wild. I had learned a lot about finishing games with this project. It felt so good to get it done and I was sick of looking at my funny little pixel doodles. I was looking to make bigger and better games.

The game has been sitting on the store stagnating away as I have gone on to get stuck in what I like to call an "endless promising prototyping" loop. You start making a game that feels fresh and new. Then one day the excitement for the game prototype starts to dwindle as a new spark of very promising new game project starts to take form in the brain. It can be really easy to fall into this trap even for years!

To break the cycle I returned to my first game to give it the best update that would really make for a funner game!

Fresh Coat of Paint

I transfered the game from 2D pixel art into 3D with voxel models made with the program Magica Voxel. This new version has more of the fun "racing" feel that I wanted the game to evoke. I completely redid the procedural generation from scratch. The character has more nuances with how the jump is controlled. I think mobile games are going to go through a decent change in quality as smartphone's hardware starts becoming more and more powerful.

Heres a comparison of the old version and a work in progress of the new one. The old version does have a certain charm to it with the environments. The old version has a few different environments that you teleport to over the course of the running. If you want to check it out before I tottally wipe it off the face of the earth just swing by the
Google Play Store:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.WereWulffStudios.BitBotRunners

To have all the cool environments in the update I am also making a adventure mode with levels I design and not an algorithm.

The adventure mode I am trying to channel those big name platformer games I love(Mega Man 2, Sonic Mania, Super Mario World, etc) while combining it with mobile "run and gun" type of game-play.

Here is some more other progress pictures:

Character Select

The old menu

The new menu

It feels "chunky" and fresh.

If you made it through all of this thank you so much for taking the time to check a look at this dev log!

I am aiming to have the big new updated version done later this if I run into no hiccups( fingers crossed and mashing that keyboard).

Also if you're a developer writing any articles on here I would like to swing by and check them out!

Sort:  

Hello dwulff! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steem Community @dwulff! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

what a nice intro I have ever read. Happy to meet you. I and all steemit community warmly welcome you at this stage. You joined a unique platform. Work hard .. our support is always with you. Best of luck dear

Welcome to Steemit dwulff. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Hey @dwulff welcome to steemit, I hope you have a great time blogging and sharing your stories on the platform. Always great to see some fresh faces coming through. I'm currently running a new competition for smaller accounts to enter their posts and win some SBD, if you're keen here is the link - https://steemit.com/giveaway/@chekohler/800-follower-milestone-giveaway-13-july-2018

A BIG BIG Welcome to Steemit! You know, I think the best part about this site is that creative people like you can share amazing posts like this with the community! I'm sure you'll find the platform beautiful! Looking at this post I can definitely tell how talented and creative you are! This is definitely a place for you. Show the world more of your breathtaking work and believe me, Steemit will reward your talent but it requires hard work! I'm no expert though I'm certain you'll do a great job on this platform!

All the best for you and your journey through this website! Visit me if you'd love to read a few stories and such! I'm definitely looking forward to hearing from you!

kirby_loves_you_by_tails090-d8xjhif.png

Kirby loves you! <3

Wow now that is an impressive Intro and that project looks awesome!

We would love to see more of it!

@dwulff, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95