Kynseed - a whimsical 2D sandbox RPG (Introduction)

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

today, I will post under a tag I have never posted before: Gaming! Although I have far too little time to dive into virtual worlds, without them, I could not bear the real one! Games inspire me, amuse me, tell me stories I could not imagine and help me be more than one mere mortal, but many! I have lived many digital lives, I won, I lost, I died - and afterwards I felt a sense of accomplishment and being at peace with myself, often thinking and feeling the vibe of a particularly good game. For me, it is Vibe and Story before anything else. But let me not digress to far, the reason why I am writing this post is a special one:

What is Kynseed, you ask? The game is described as a whimsical 2D sandbox RPG in pixel-art-style. But let me quote the developers:

"Kynseed is a 2D sandbox adventure from veterans of Lionhead Studios’ Fable series. Drawing from years of experience crafting the iconic Fable titles, we aim to deliver an all-new quirky RPG filled to the brim with mystery, exploration, awful puns, and sandbox possibilities.

While invoking the spirit of past Fable games, Kynseed is infused with our own ideas and a mix of British folklore, ancient legend, and rustic traditions. We hope to capture these inspirations in an atmospheric world with whimsy, humour, and eccentricity, and not a single orc or high elf in sight.

You have grown up in your parent's idyllic farm in The Vale, a peaceful valley in the faery tale land of Quill. In time, you meet the mysterious Mr Fairweather, who offers you a mystical acorn called the Kynseed. Once planted, it will grow a magical family tree.

But such a gift does not come without a price.

Will your name be carved on the walls of history or scrawled on the walls of the pub outhouse?"

This has everything. I loved playing the Fable series and games like Harvest Moon, The Legend of Zelda, Secret of Mana and Stardew Valley, but while being absolutely awesome by themselves, I always wished I could cross them. Go on adventures and fight while being a farmer or a blacksmith. Choices that matter, lots of stuff to explore while I am able to define the game and its goals myself. A world, that sucks me into its realms and does not let go easily. I think, Kynseed could be the one! Just have a look at the lovely concept art:


Tree House [Artist: Mike McCathy]


Quill Villagers [Artist: Mike McCathy]

I am always in awe when I look at the concept art. Truly magical! Here is what the actual gameplay will look like:

You see, Kynseed has the best prerequisites to be absolutely awesome. They succesfully ran a Kickstarter campaign in 2017 to finance the title, but a contribution is still possible via their "piggy backer" program (rewards and access to the beta included!). They launch the closed beta this weekend, and as a backer I'll have the possibility to try the game (and, of course, report back to you)! After the beta is finished, the game will come as early access to Steam.

As they would say: Huzzah!

Dysprosium

Sort:  

Congratulations @dysprosium! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I can't believe that is true!... but I also couldn't believe it wasn't butter. No really. That stuff was actually butter right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73